Meatless Lasagna (Lasagne di Magro)

In northern Italy, lasagna usually is made with besciamella, a white sauce, and meat ragu. In this southern version, ricotta and mozzarella cheeses are substituted for the besciamella, and a meatless tomato sauce replaces the ragu. The result is lighter and less rich, but no less delicious. You will end up with a generous amount of sauce. Serve the remainder alongside the baked lasagna, or toss it with pasta for another meal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Meatless Lasagna (Lasagne di Magro)
Review 1 for Meatless Lasagna (Lasagne di Magro)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizzieA
,Atascadero
,Ca
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a big group
January 2, 2013
Great made with fresh summer tomatoes for the sauce. However, we love it any time of the year!
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Meatless Lasagna (Lasagne di Magro)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KMBauch
January 2, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing!!!
January 2, 2012
One of our family's favorite dishes. It's simple, fresh and filling. My family and I are vegetarians and it is very difficult to find meatless lasagna at restaurants so I finally decided to make it at home. Amazing! I added 3-4 cloves of garlic and a little extra basil than what was called for. If you want to impress family and friends, make this dish!
Review 3 for Meatless Lasagna (Lasagne di Magro)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Debbie78
Greenbelt, MD
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious!
January 24, 2011
I made two of these for a large dinner party and it was a big hit. I made the sauce the night before and then assembled them in the morning, so I went with the straight-from-fridge time and it was perfect. The cheese ended up very well done, which I like. I doubled the amount of mozzerella, but everything else was per the recipe.
Review 4 for Meatless Lasagna (Lasagne di Magro)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LDNJ
Montclair, NJ
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So so Yum Yum
January 11, 2011
This lasagna is A-maaaaazing! It is so tasty and so easy. I added chopped spinach to the ricotta mixture and it adds an extra level of yumminess! Definitely a go to recipe. Thanks WS!
Review 5 for Meatless Lasagna (Lasagne di Magro)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cloclo
Toronto Canada
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good fall dinner!
September 20, 2010
Beautiful meal! I served this lasagna with Market Farmers' greens with baked goat cheese crostinis and for dessert,Apple Turnover from this site.That was a "Williams Sonoma meal. Nice weekday meal.
Review 6 for Meatless Lasagna (Lasagne di Magro)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaitw22
New York, NY
May 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Time consuming but worth it
May 13, 2010
I had never made sauce with fresh tomatoes before this recipe, but what a difference it makes! My boyfriend is a huge meat eater and still loved this!