Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon

A delicious luxury, most quality varieties of smoked salmon are cold smoked, a longer, more demanding process than hot smoking. Nova, which once denoted smoked salmon from Nova Scotia, now refers to any cold-smoked Atlantic salmon. Lox is salmon that has been both brine cured and smoked; it is a slightly saltier product. Because this torta calls for chopped smoked salmon, you may use slices, the most readily available form, or trimmings or scraps, which are often available in fish markets and specialty-food shops.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
Review 1 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CrisDC
,Washington
,DC
November 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous appetiser
November 24, 2013
It's an impressive appetizer that is relatively fast to make. The most time take to chip pistachios. I brought it few times at work parties and every one liked it.
Review 2 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very pretty but not what I expected
May 27, 2012
It seems I'm the odd one out on this one, but I just didn't love this. I think it was just too bland for me.
On the upside, it does look very pretty - great combination of colours! Impressive in appearance, but lacking in flavour, in my opinion.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive
Cons: not super flavourful
Review 3 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Betty77
,Norwood
,MA
Norwood, MA
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Help! Your opinions?
December 6, 2011
I love everything about this recipe except the salmon. Would a good alternative be roasted red peppers? Any other suggestions?
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steele
Idaho
Posted December 25, 2013
Looking for Salmon Alternative
Try Prosciutto di Parma instead of Salmon.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mayette13
,Bristol
,ME
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A big hit!
November 21, 2011
I am not a cook, so this was a challenge for me...I was stumped on what bowl size to use, but after I figured that out, it was EASY! Brought it to my monthly "Girls Night Out" gathering and everyone LOVED it. There were no leftovers!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive
Review 5 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chocolattez
Northern New Jersey
July 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Festive, delicious and elegant!
July 3, 2011
Have made this recipe for all kinds of occasions from summer bbq to a winter dinner party...It never fails to be a hit... one of my favorite recipes to bring to someone as it looks so elegant and difficult to make but is quite simple. GREAT recipe!!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clwinelover
Santa Maria, CA
May 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always a Winner
May 12, 2011
Have made this several times and always get a lot of compliments! I use more pistachios than the recipe calls for, can't wait to make it again!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
94805
Richmond, CA
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is great for a party or holiday meal
December 11, 2010
You can make this the night before, so that's always night. It was a big hit, even with my picky husband. Recipe is easy to follow.
Review 8 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tennislady
Orange County, CA
August 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Party Appetizer
August 28, 2010
I made this for a summer BBQ with with several other "foodies" present. It was a huge hit, and so easy to make...how can you ask for more!
I did add finely chopped green onions, dill, and grated and chopped lemon zest to the cheese mixture, which went really went well with the salmon!
Review 9 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ives
Brussels, Belgium
August 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fit for King Albert II and Queen Paola
August 2, 2010
I am an American living in Belguim . . . I made this outstandingly wonderful Hors d'œuvre followed by Salmon in Cream and Muscadet Sauce (Saumon à la Crème au Muscadet), a William Sonoma recipe as well, for company visiting from the States and it was the w/out a doubt the best salmon meal I have ever prepared and served. Thank you for the great recipes WS!
Review 10 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abeja
Costa Rica
July 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The star of the night
July 2, 2010
Every time I make this torta it´s a hit...its easy to prepare, you can do it in advance and has a splendid flavor (great ingredients). It´s a winner and you will look like a pro!!!
Review 11 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patsy1960
Rockville Centre, NY
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Festive Party Fare
May 14, 2010
What an impressive take on an old stand by. I make this when I want to impress, but have little time to fuss.
Review 12 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
akaNikki
Mill Valley, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Crowd Pleaser
May 14, 2010
I've made this several times and it always is a big hit. Very easy to make and pretty to look at. The last party I took it to, no one would cut into it until the end of the party and then it was gone in 15 minutes.
Review 13 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
socalfoodie
San Diego, CA
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great appetizer
May 2, 2010
Easy to make and great presentation. I even froze a bach to use later and it made no difference in taste. I have been asked for the recipe by several people.
Review 14 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wazzumoe
Vancouver, WA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple, Easy, Elegant
April 30, 2010
I've made this appetizer several times for a variety of occasions, and it is always a huge hit.
It has great flavor and is truly pleasing to look at. It looks like it took a long time to prepare but it's really quite simple.
Review 15 for Mascarpone and Goat Cheese Torta with Smoked Salmon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harrinstead
southbury, ct.
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Show stopper
April 30, 2010
This is beautiful to look at, but better to eat! An easy, do ahead wonderful app, you won't be diisapointed.