Maple Pecan Squares

In early spring, the warm days and cold nights start the sap flowing in sugar maple trees. It takes 40 gallons of sap to produce only 1 gallon of pure maple syrup, and just a small amount of the concentrated syrup to give these toffeelike pecan bars their distinctive maple flavor. The bars will be set but soft when warm, and become crisp and brittle when cool.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Maple Pecan Squares
Review 1 for Maple Pecan Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nabeela
,San Jose
,CA
California
April 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make
April 24, 2013
I've made this numerous times. It's a favorite around the house. I personally like walnuts better than pecans, so that is what I normally use. Using a food processor makes the prep go easy.
Review 2 for Maple Pecan Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DinaSD
,San Diego
,CA
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious!
November 29, 2011
This was quite easy to make and tasted great! I've tried other recipes for pecan bars in the past and they've usually included corn syrup. I loved the omission of the corn syrup and using the maple syrup instead as I felt the bars did not get too hard and crunchy as with other recipes I've tried. I used a 9 x 13 pan and made 1 1/2 times the amount of this recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 3 for Maple Pecan Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovestobaketoo
Oxford, Ohio
June 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious every time
June 23, 2010
I have made this recipe on a number of occasions, they are perfect to share and I have not met anyone who did not like them. In fact the Williams-Sonoma baking cookbook that this recipe is from is fabulous, A note to the ingredients list--the Pecans are actually for the filling, which is made clear in the directions but just an FYI. I tend to have better luck when I have baked them to the long end, if not baked enough they are gooey--but still yummy. I have also found if I let them cool too long before removing from the foil it is very difficult--make sure foil is heavy duty.
Review 4 for Maple Pecan Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maggiep
Okoboji, Iowa
May 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pecan Pie?
May 6, 2010
Loved this recipe and I am not a nut person. Thought it looked really good and using the pure Maple syrup intrigued me so thought I would give it a try. Followed all the directions but forgot to buy the heavy cream. Tried to rack my brain for a substitute but nothing came to mind. I opened my frig and saw a bottle of Jamaica Rum Cream that my son had brought me from Jamaica! Had a light bulb moment and thought what the heck! I used half that and half skim milk as that was the only milk I had, not even evaporated milk in the house. Worked just fine! Did take longer than it says to bake but they turned out just great. Wouldn't change a thing (maybe use the the real cream nest time). They taste like Pecan Pie!