Maple-Pecan Pie

Pure maple syrup, made from the boiled sap of the sugar maple tree, comes in three grades. Grade A Light or Fancy syrup, sometimes called Grade AA, is clear gold and has a wonderfully subtle flavor, but its delicate character does not hold up in cooking. Grade B syrup is produced only in Vermont and has more maple flavor than Grade A. Sometimes called "baking" or "cooking" maple syrup, it is ideal for use in this recipe. Grade C has a robust, molasses-like flavor and is used primarily in making commercial table syrups.
Average Customer Rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Maple-Pecan Pie
Review 1 for Maple-Pecan Pie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Superyummy
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not very good
November 30, 2013
The picture does not reflect the actual pie. The recipe calls for chopped pecans and thoroughly mixed---- too much, too rich, not good. Very time consuming. Very disappointing.
Review 2 for Maple-Pecan Pie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CRFB
,East Hampton
,NY
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
11of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quantities are WRONG in WS recipe
October 26, 2013
No wonder pies have come out soupy! The Williams Sonoma recipe calls for too much syrup, not enough eggs and not enough brown sugar (which, combined with egg acts as a binding agent as well as a sweetener). The WS recipe calls for 2 cups maple syrup, 2 eggs & 1/4 cup brown sugar.CORRECT amounts should be: ONE cup maple syrup, THREE eggs and 1/2 cup light brown sugar.
Cons: Ingredients, erroneous quantities
Review 3 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WatermelonIce
,Saratoga Springs
,UT
Utah
February 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Someone PLEASE tell me how to get this pie to SET!
February 14, 2012
My husband is an avid pecan pie lover so I have tried this recipe now five times. Five. The first four, I tried to find the best quality maple syrup available in my area but couldn't ever find the grade B it asks for. Every time it was soupy. This fifth time, I actually ordered the GRADE B maple syrup from vermont that the recipe calls for and was so excited thinking that that would be the missing link and now it would be perfect. It ended up MORE soupy than any other time I attempted it. I even added an extra egg this time! I am being very careful to properly reduce the syrup. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. The only reason I still haven't given up is that my husband says, despite the disappointing texture, it is (with the Grade B syrup used) the BEST PECAN PIE he has EVER tasted! So I carry on... hoping that one of these times I'll figure out how to make this dumb thing set properly so he doesn't have to drink it with a straw. HELP!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance
Cons: won't set
Review 4 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWhetman
,Omaha
,Ne
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DELICIOUS!!
November 28, 2011
Maple is the perfect addition to pecan pie . . I have like pecan pie in the past, but not LOVED . . .the gooey filling was just so flavorless and mushy . . . .well maple syrup adds such a great flavor to the filling that I could gobble the whole pie up myself. Whoever thought this up is genius!! Since making this with the real maple syrup (expensive but Delicious), I decided to try a regular pecan pie recipe (with corn syrup) and added maple flavoring. It came pretty close, so I would highly recommend adding 1 teaspoon of maple flavoring to a regular pecan pie recipe if you can't stomach the cost of the maple syrup AND pecans. You will never go back to regular pecan pie, I know I won't.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, perfection
Cons: Cost, Unhealthy
Review 5 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ParisKitchen
,Paris, France
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than typical pecan pie.
November 28, 2011
I added a third egg, and a pinch more salt, and made two of these pies for Thanksgiving. Normally pecan pie is too sweet for us, but we loved this one!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Maple-Pecan Pie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mish07
,Seattle
,WA
November 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SUPER SWEET
November 22, 2011
Bummer! I have tried a couple of Pecan Pie recipes from WS and they have been wonderful. This one however is like drinking straight Maple Syrup. I had to toss it out : (
Pros: Easy
Cons: Taste
Review 7 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RyanF
,Chievres
,BE
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Pie!
November 20, 2011
This recipe is awesome! This was my first time baking a pecan pie ever, and the recipe was simple and easy to follow, though I did cheat and use a pre-made crust. My friends were amazed by it and have been clamoring for the reciepe. Bake it and find out for yourselfs, you will not be disappointed.
Pros: Easy, Appearance
Review 8 for Maple-Pecan Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
superjj
Scottsdale
December 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome! but add 1 egg
December 13, 2010
Everyone loved this pie! Not so sweet and a rich blend of tempting flavors. It was gone in a flash. Just reading I knew that this could get soupy since most pecan pie recipies call for at least 3-4 eggs. Soooo....add 1 egg and viola-perfection! A must for any pecan pie lover
Review 9 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiNana
November 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and delicious!
November 15, 2010
I was surprised at how easy it was to make this pie! I would say the secret to getting a thick filling is to make sure you properly reduce the maple syrup if you choose to use pure maple syrup as it has a higher viscosity than artificial syrups.
Review 10 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Lawrenceville, NJ
November 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Holiday Dessert
November 13, 2010
This is the best pecan pie I've ever tasted! What makes it better than most is that it uses maple syrup instead of corn syrup which gives it more flavor and at the same time doesn't seem as overly sweet as typical pecan pies. This has now become a new tradition at our Thanksgiving dinner. I can't recommend this recipe enough.
Review 11 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabrielle5
Weston, FL
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Addicting - it's that good!
October 20, 2010
My husband named this Opium Pie because the flavor is so intoxicating it is difficult to refrain from eating the whole pie. You can feel the endorphins rushing to the brain as you eat this pie. It's that good!
Review 12 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mandyreno
New York, NY
October 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
really easy and delicious - a big hit!
October 4, 2010
I've never made a pecan pie before but this recipe was easy and amazing. My family loved it!
Review 13 for Maple-Pecan Pie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Biggs
Connecticut
August 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hope you have better luck
August 23, 2010
In hopes of finding a pecan pie without Karo I found the recipe.....and it never got really hard. I had pecan soup that I turned into candied pecans. Hope it works better for you or may I suggest you find a different recipe. I will.