Maple-Pecan Pie

Pure maple syrup, made from the boiled sap of the sugar maple tree, comes in three grades. Grade A Light or Fancy syrup, sometimes called Grade AA, is clear gold and has a wonderfully subtle flavor, but its delicate character does not hold up in cooking. Grade B syrup is produced only in Vermont and has more maple flavor than Grade A. Sometimes called "baking" or "cooking" maple syrup, it is ideal for use in this recipe. Grade C has a robust, molasses-like flavor and is used primarily in making commercial table syrups.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Maple-Pecan Pie
Review 1 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ArmyMom1979
,Baton Rouge
,LA
November 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pecan Pie EVER
November 28, 2014
I was really hesistent on trying this recipe after reading these horrible reviews. I followed this recipe to the tee and it turned out beautiful. The key to making this perfect is patience...be sure to wait the entire time after you boil the syrup for it to return to room tempature (45 minutes)....also after you take the pie out of the oven...let it cool completely (2hours)....it will allow it to set and not be runny. BEST PECAN PIE EVER!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Maple-Pecan Pie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Superyummy
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not very good
November 30, 2013
The picture does not reflect the actual pie. The recipe calls for chopped pecans and thoroughly mixed---- too much, too rich, not good. Very time consuming. Very disappointing.
Review 3 for Maple-Pecan Pie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CRFB
,East Hampton
,NY
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
13of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quantities are WRONG in WS recipe
October 26, 2013
No wonder pies have come out soupy! The Williams Sonoma recipe calls for too much syrup, not enough eggs and not enough brown sugar (which, combined with egg acts as a binding agent as well as a sweetener). The WS recipe calls for 2 cups maple syrup, 2 eggs & 1/4 cup brown sugar.CORRECT amounts should be: ONE cup maple syrup, THREE eggs and 1/2 cup light brown sugar.
Cons: Ingredients, erroneous quantities
Review 4 for Maple-Pecan Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WatermelonIce
,Saratoga Springs
,UT
Utah
February 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Someone PLEASE tell me how to get this pie to SET!
February 14, 2012
My husband is an avid pecan pie lover so I have tried this recipe now five times. Five. The first four, I tried to find the best quality maple syrup available in my area but couldn't ever find the grade B it asks for. Every time it was soupy. This fifth time, I actually ordered the GRADE B maple syrup from vermont that the recipe calls for and was so excited thinking that that would be the missing link and now it would be perfect. It ended up MORE soupy than any other time I attempted it. I even added an extra egg this time! I am being very careful to properly reduce the syrup. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. The only reason I still haven't given up is that my husband says, despite the disappointing texture, it is (with the Grade B syrup used) the BEST PECAN PIE he has EVER tasted! So I carry on... hoping that one of these times I'll figure out how to make this dumb thing set properly so he doesn't have to drink it with a straw. HELP!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance
Cons: won't set
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
ArmyMom1979
Baton Rouge, LA
Posted November 28, 2014
Patience is the key
I figured it out...it comes down to patience. After the syrup boils...you need to leave it alone until it returns back to room tempature. It took 45 minutes for me. I realized that the process of it returning to room tempature was allowing the filling to thicken. Second important thing to do to ensure it sets...is wait until the pie is completely cooled. It took mine 2hours to cool.....but don't rush it because your filling is setting during this time. I hope this helps;)
0points
Customer avatar
Leland
Posted November 26, 2014
getting pie to set
If its not setting you need to cook boil the syrup longer. You my be bringing it to a boil to quickly or not boiling enough or not hot enough. I have to stir frequently to keep from boiling over at my boil temp. Hope this helps!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)