Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding

A classic Sunday dinner in England, roast beef with Yorkshire pudding makes an impressive meal for a festive gathering. The pudding, which is prepared in the same pan that was used to roast the meat, is baked until puffy and golden brown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
Review 1 for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hopflower
,CA
Bay Area
November 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Really Christmas Food but...
November 27, 2012
Actually, my family is English and we traditionally eat goose for Christmas dinner; not roast beef, which is traditional Sunday dinner fare. However, a good roast beef and Yorkshire Pud is not to be sneezed at, at least our cuisine is getting a nod, which usually does not happen.
These are good recipes for both dishes. Of course, gravy must be made for the meat and pud as well.
I grew up on Roast beef and Yorkshire Pud every Sunday; we also like Brussels sprouts with it.
Don't open the oven door when baking the Pud, that is one secret. Let it stand for one hour in a cool place (before putting it into the oven) is another.
Review 2 for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CherylMc
,Belton
,TX
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant but Easy Holiday Meal
January 2, 2012
I made this meal for Christmas and it was a huge hit. My guest kept saying that this was the best meal he'd ever had and he's too honest (especially when it comes to food) to have been just trying to flatter me! I did substitute a beef tenderloin for the strip roast as my butcher seemed unfamiliar with that type of roast. The tenderloin was also quicker to roast but beware, it did not produce the drippings need for the pudding but I just used extra oil.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
annemarie1
Massachusetts
February 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Traditional Dinner
February 5, 2011
This is one of the easiest and elegant holiday meals I have ever prepared. The Yorkshire pudding was wonderful. I rarely make roast beef (no pun intended) but this recipe is a keeper. Highly recommend!
Review 4 for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OrangeSky
Salt Lake City UT
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Prepare and Wonderfully Fragrant
December 29, 2010
Easy to prepare with stunning results, not only visually but the taste buds are in heaven. Guests continued to go for seconds and even thirds! They simply couldn't get enough! I invite you to try this recipe. You will be satisfied with the delicious results.
Review 5 for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Jacksonville, NC
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a hit!
December 27, 2010
We hosted a dinner party of 15 with this as the main course. Among our guests was a classically trained chef. It was rave reviews all the way around! With a little planning, it is a very easy recipe. I will serve this again.
Review 6 for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dimondgirl02
Melbourne, FL
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Christmas Dinner
December 26, 2010
This recipe is excellent. I made it for Christmas dinner and my family and extended family all said that it was the best Christmas dinner they ever had!! The Yorkshire pudding was easy to make and it was yummy. I used a rib roast vs. the Williams Sonoma strip loin roast, but used the same recipe and the meat was delicious, took out of the oven at 130 degrees, perfect! I even served with the green beans that was suggested and that was the perfect veggie choice. Easy to make and gives a definite "wow" factor to a holiday or special occasion dinner!!
Review 7 for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sdg11592
Los Angeles, CA
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Yorkshire Pudding
December 25, 2010
I've made Yorkshire Pudding for Christmas Eve for years. Just moved and didn't have my recipe handy so decided to try yours. I was leary at first because this one seemed quite different from my Grandmother's. Sorry, Grandmother, this was the best Yorkshire Pudding I have ever made. If you love Yorkshire Pudding, try this recipe. A new instant family tradition.
Review 8 for Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MargueriteA
Mishawaka, Indiana
December 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+22points
24of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Strip Loin Roast with Yorkshire Pudding
December 2, 2010
This superb recipe is exactly as my mother made 60 some years ago when I was a child...So elegant and delicious for guests or a special occasion...I love it.