Lentil and Spinach Soup

For an almost instant soup, use canned lentils instead of dried. Add to the soup in the second step and cook for 5 minutes before adding the spinach. Canned lentils are available in well-stocked supermarkets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lentil and Spinach Soup
Review 1 for Lentil and Spinach Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodie63
,Taunton
,MA
April 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A New Comfort Food
April 7, 2014
A soup that's easy to throw together, healthy (for the most part) and filled with flavor. What's not to love? I did drain some of the bacon fat to make it a bit healthier. Added some chopped celery and used a combination of spinach and kale. Poached a chicken breast, chopped into bite size pieces and added with the greens for a more substantial soup. Perfect cold/rainy day soup.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Lentil and Spinach Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WGitK
,Kamloops
,BC
November 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Balanced, quick and wonderfully healthy soup
November 17, 2013
Highly recommended. It comes together with minimal preparation and is an excellent weeknight supper. I like to add smoked paprika, but the recipe is flawless as-is.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Lentil and Spinach Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dianer
,THE PLAINS
,VA
The Plains, VA
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 17, 2013
This recipe was as easy to make as it was delicious and healthy. I had my heart (and taste buds) set on making it, but didn't realize I was out of carrots. I improvised with a parsnip instead. I plan on making this recipe a regular in my household and will try with a carrot the next time. For two, it made enough for wonderful leftovers for, at least, another meal.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Lentil and Spinach Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoyousL
,Den Haag, The Netherlands
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 17, 2012
This was very easy to put together and a fantastic meal.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Lentil and Spinach Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rlhclark
,South Windsor
,CT
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Family Pleasing
January 1, 2012
I'm always looking for healthy recipes that my whole family will like. This is a great way to serve lentils and a dark, leafy green. Everyone liked this one. The bacon gives it a wonderful flavor. This only made one meal for my family of four, so I will double the recipe next time. I also added a bay leaf.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Will Make Again