Lemon Buttermilk Bars

Buttermilk adds a pleasing tang to these dessert bars, which derive their lemony taste from grated lemon zest and fresh juice.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lemon Buttermilk Bars
Review 1 for Lemon Buttermilk Bars
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChezShea
,Pocatello
,ID
July 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need to Really Like Lemon
July 5, 2013
This recipe is VERY lemony. I made it for a casual night with friends. Everyone loved it. But, there's not much that's sweet about it. If you aren't a true lemon fan, I would recommend cutting back a bit on the fresh lemon juice.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 2 for Lemon Buttermilk Bars
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilitalia
,Silver Spring
,MD
May 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
May 4, 2013
This is the first homemade lemon bar recipe I've made and they were delicious. They were also very easy to make. I'll definitely be making these again. I cut mine into 16 bars and they were still a decent size.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Lemon Buttermilk Bars
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mangopapaya
March 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious!
March 18, 2012
Wow, what great lemon bars. I've been looking for a good recipe for awhile and these definitely take first place. They are easy and quick to make. The crust is buttery but not too sweet, and the lemon filling is not too sweet and not too sour. I will definitely be making these again!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Lemon Buttermilk Bars
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodie2006
,Hampton
,VA
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DELICIOUS!
February 1, 2012
My husband and I had a recipe that called for buttermilk, we had some leftover that I was trying to use up when I stumbled on this recipe. To say they are great is an understatement. This is by far our favorite lemon bar recipe. I've now made it 3 times trying to use up the buttermilk and each time my husband and his coworkers say they are absolutely delicious. The Meyer lemon has a mild lemony flavor that doesn't overpower the recipe.
Also, they're pretty good without the powdered sugar as well.
If you've only had lemon bars out of a box recipe, I highly recommend trying this from scratch version.
Pros: Quick, Will Make Again