Lemon Bread

This recipe carries a double dose of lemon: grated zest in the batter and lemon syrup poured over the bread after baking. For a heavenly dessert, bake it in 2 miniature loaf pans, then top the slices with berries and whipped cream.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lemon Bread
Review 1 for Lemon Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nana42boys
,Roseburg
,Or
May 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and versatile
May 10, 2014
The recipe as written is quick and inexpensive to prepare. It is also a versatile base for additions such as blueberries. A real winner!
Pros: Quick, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Lemon Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu
,Asheville
,NC
Asheville, NC
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 12, 2013
Made this bread for the first time. It is absolutely yummy. It is not too sweet and is perfect for breakfast or a light dessert. I believe that my husband likes it better than my banana nut bread which is a favorite. I plan on trying the recipe to make an orange loaf with freshly squeezed orange juice and orange zest. Hopefully, it will be just as delicious. This is a quick and easy recipe that delivers a wonderful loaf.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Lemon Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenx
,Fonthill, Canada
September 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
September 2, 2013
I have tried many lemon bread recipes and this is by far the best. So simple to make and it turns out perfect every time. The last time I added a few fresh raspberries I had on hand and it was terrific.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Lemon Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marnster
,Fergus
,ON
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sophisticated and Yummie
June 18, 2013
Not a huge baker but took the advice from the other reviews. I did add the nuts and it gives it that added finesse. Very Lemony. Will make again! Absolutely!
Pros: Quick, Adaptable, Impressive
Review 5 for Lemon Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnieCA
,CA
April 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lemon Love
April 5, 2013
I made this recipe about a month ago & just can't rave about it enough! It was so delicious I had to go & share it with a neighbor immediately. My husband, daughter, neighbor & I finished it in less than 24hrs! If you are looking for a bread that has that pop of lemon this is it, the flavors are not subtle but very present in fact.
I'm off to make 2 batches to share! Enjoy!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Lemon Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmcdesign
,Harleysville
,PA
February 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Teenage daughters favorite!
February 23, 2013
I make breakfast breads for my 2 finicky, on-the-go teenage daughters and they just love this bread. It is often requested in our house. I made it with almonds instead of the pecans because that is what I had on hand. I also ground additional almonds and mixed with course sugar and sprinkled on top before baking. That addition gave it a nice crunchy top! Am going to try adding blueberries for added nutrition.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Lemon Bread
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
k9cognac
December 18, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Husband loves it!
December 18, 2012
My husband loved this recipe! It was really easy to make and it turned out fluffy and light. If you like lemon, this is probably a great recipe. I tried this recipe to give as Christmas gifts...a nice change from the usual heavy, chocolate treats. I recommend removing the loaf from the pan then adding the glaze while it sits on the cooling rack...otherwise the glaze cools and makes it really hard to get the loaf out of the pan, causing it to tear apart into pieces :(
Pros: Quick, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
vn425
Elk Grove
Posted February 17, 2013
Lemon Bread
An easy way to remove the bread from the pan without tearing apart and at the same time retaining all of the wonderful syrup is to line the pan with parchment paper. After pouring the syrup on the cake and cooling, simply lift the cake out of the pan by pulling the parchment paper up out of the pan. This also improves the appearance of the bread by not browning.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Lemon Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arafto1
,Arlington
,VA
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Lemon Bread
May 29, 2012
I have made this recipe countless times, and I had to chime in with the other reviewers. It is one of the best lemon bread recipes ever. It's very fluffy and light with a great lemon flavor. I add an additional glaze of powdered sugar & milk which my husband loves. All the times I've made it over the years, it's always turned out wonderfully and it never lasts more than a day. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Lemon Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCityMouse
,Outer Banks
,NC
April 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple Yet Delicious!
April 7, 2012
I baked this, on a whim, as I had a lemon that I needed to use. This simple little bread is delicious. Everyone loved it! The texture is light and fluffy and the nuts give unexpected texture ....the glaze is...amazing! This is most certainly a keeper...I plan to bake this often, both for us and for gift giving! ***Mine didn't turn out as yellow as the bread featured in the recipe....it was lighter and speckled with nuts...***
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations