Korean Barbecued Beef

Korean cooks slice beef for grilling very thinly to allow for quick marinating and only the briefest cooking. A sharp chef's knife is key to slicing the meat sufficiently thin. For easier slicing, first place the beef in the freezer just until firm, 20 to 30 minutes. Then, using a single deliberate motion, slice the meat across the grain 1/8 inch thick. Avoid sawing the meat, which results in slices with jagged edges. If the slices are too thick, place them between sheets of parchment or waxed paper and pound to an even 1/8-inch thickness with a meat pounder.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Korean Barbecued Beef
Review 1 for Korean Barbecued Beef
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chauhan
July 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent marinade
July 31, 2011
Excellent marinade! Try it with Rib eye steaks and marinate overnite! Perfect every time!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Islandboy
Spokane, Washington
Posted March 8, 2012
Korean BBQ not correct
The recipe you showed for Korean BBQ is a dressed up Teriyaki Sauce. Korean BBQ sauce always contains some element of either Apples or Pears.. This is a great recipe for sure. But it is more japanese than anything.
To make a great Korean BBQ sauce follow the recipe you have given and puree 2-3 pears with a couple of tablespoons lime juice and simmer on low until it has reduced by half, add to the sauce.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Korean Barbecued Beef
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gourmetmom
Fillmore, CA
June 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful marinade and flavors. Very worth trying
June 11, 2011
I love to cook, and am really picky over my recipes. I have to say that this quickly became a favortie at my house. So incredibly good! Very worth it. The only advice I would give is that it doesn't make very good leftovers. The filet is so tender, that it becomes mushy by the next day.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Korean Barbecued Beef
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
grubs
Fairfield, CT
May 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
May 13, 2011
This is one of our favorite grilling recipe. If you follow the directions, it comes out absolutely flavorful. Its always a hit with guests. I like to leave out the chile sauce as I like this as a non-spicy dish, but I'm sure its good with it as well. The toased sesame seeds are a must - and you have to toast them yourself or you won't get the full, robust, sesame flavor.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Korean Barbecued Beef
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Burbank, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than take-out!
April 30, 2010
Very flavorful, especially if you marinate the meat overnight. And, if you mix up the dipping sauce ahead of time, this is a quick fix dinner....just add rice & you're good to go. (Be sure not to skip the dipping sauce....it makes the meal!)