Italian Wedding Soup

The consensus among food historians is that this soup has nothing to do with wedding ceremonies. Instead, the name is based on a loose translation of minestra maritata, which means "married soup" in Italian-a reference to the fact that green vegetables and meats go well together. When you taste this hearty soup, we're sure you'll agree.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Italian Wedding Soup
Review 1 for Italian Wedding Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marion66
Cleveland
January 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
January 11, 2011
This soup is healthy and hearty. Both my husband and I were astonished by how delicious and filling it was, and we loved the leftovers, which taste even better! I used ground chicken for the meatballs and added about a teaspoon of parsley to the mixture. I also threw in about a teaspoon of basil to the broth. I plan on making this soup for a dinner next week and serving it with a crusty bread and salad.
Highly recommended.
Review 2 for Italian Wedding Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Velvetswan
Cornwall, New York
May 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Wedding Soup
May 25, 2010
I have made this soup several times and it came out great every time. I started following the exact recipe but then I made some changes. I added pastina pasta and I also tried using ground turkey instead of pork and used chopped baby spinach in place of the kale. If you don't have the beans on hand you can skip them. Its a great soup!
Review 3 for Italian Wedding Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nurseloo
New Mexico
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent soup for a meal or as an accompaniment.
April 30, 2010
This soup has a delicious flavor, the chicken broth and kale add both nutrition and flavor to it. The one lacking ingredient is a bit of pasta which can be easily remedied with just a bit of a small pasta such as ditalini.
One other change I have made to the recipe is to bake the tiny meatballs on parchment paper, thereby cutting the added oil to the recipe
Great for sick friends, or well ones both. As one friend said who had a bowl," this soup is to die for!"
Review 4 for Italian Wedding Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
millersmom74
Hopkinton, NH
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hearty soup for a cold night
April 30, 2010
I made this soup for the first time and my husband was skeptical at first but after he tried it he said how good it was and was the envy of the lunch table at work. I made the meatballs out of venison and ground beef for a little change. I will definitely make again