Italian Bean and Pasta Soup

When the weather is cool and you feel like staying indoors, it's time to make pasta e fagioli, a favorite Italian meal in a bowl. It can be brothy or quite thick, depending upon personal taste. Cooking the pasta separately from the soup helps the pasta maintain its texture. If you have made the soup in advance, add the cooked pasta when reheating the soup, as the pasta can become mushy if it stands too long in the soup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
Review 1 for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SusieQ55
,Elk Grove Village
,IL
January 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tuscan Bean Soup
January 5, 2013
This Soup is one of the best that I have ever made! I use bacon that was Low Sodium and drain off the extra fat and reserved Bacon for topping. I cooked the veggies and added Fresh Tyme and Italian Parsley along with Salt and Pepper. I did add Tomatoes and Beans and also some Pesto I have made earlier in the week with the Chicken Stock and some Water. I also added a rind of Parm. Cheese and cooked for over 2 1/2 hours.
I served with a Salad and fresh Baked Rolls and used extra Parm. Cheese and Bacon Crumbled on top. This is great Soup recipe and I will make this again!
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AbigailD
,Summit
,NJ
December 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great soup, took longer than expected
December 12, 2012
This ended up being a delicious soup, but the beans were definitely NOT tender after soaking for one hour and then being added to the pot for another hour. I had to leave the soup on low heat for another 1-2 hours before the beans were edible. Also, I highly recommend mashing about a third of the beans/veggies in a separate bowl with a fork and then adding them back in, making it a heartier soup. You don't really need to get the food processor out. I didn't even add the pasta. I served it with a piece of good toasted bread and plenty of parm. Delicious! I will definitely make this again!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KathrynMarie
,Danville
,CA
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing flavors
January 9, 2012
I wanted to find a recipe to use cannellini beans. This looked fairly easy (and it was) and my husband loves anything with pasta. Like another reviewer, what impressed me the most was the delicious flavor of this recipe, although the broth was light. I used two cups of low sodium chicken broth and the remaining four cups water. So glad I added the entire eight cups of liquid. Having the liquid with the beans and the pasta was perfect. I followed the recipe, although I did not add a sprinkling of olive oil when it was served. We did add Parmesan cheese. We also had a small salad and hot bread. I could have easily had a second helping (my husband did). I will definitely prepare this again and invite some friends for dinner. Preparation was simple.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shesalittlebear
,Rocklin
,CA
October 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great soup.
October 9, 2011
I first tried this soup at the Roseville, CA store. They demoed the pressure cooker version. I loved it so much that I made it the next night for dinner. I did make a couple of modifications that worked out great. I used white beans, about 2/3 of a kielbasa style sausage (way more than 1/2 cup) instead of the pancetta, added about a teaspoon of thyme and added baby spinach once the soup was done. I also pureed a couple of small laddles of the veggie mix (per the recipe) for added thickness. My husband absolutely loved the soup and he doesn't usuall like soups.
The only con-It took longer than I expected for the prep and for my electric pressure cooker to come to pressure. I'll probably save this recipe for an early weekend dinner.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again, hearty and health
Review 5 for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AdiLut
Bakersfield, CA
February 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful!
February 13, 2011
I love soups, but I rarely make them because it seems like too much fuss. However, this soup was incredibly easy to prepare. My beef with brothy soups tends to be a lack of flavor, but this soup had a rich broth full of dimension. I elected to add no salt and it was not missed. My only feedback is regarding the pasta. The amount called for is disproportionate to the veggies. I would cut the pasta in half and add 1 more carrot & celery stalk. Next time I will also used an orzo instead of shells. Still, quite tasty!
Review 6 for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jess
Danvers, MA
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply DELISH!!!!
February 10, 2011
I usually make this warming soup every winter. It is very hearty, filling and tastes wonderful. For a healthier version, try using whole wheat pasta instead of regular. You can't even tell the difference in this soup.
Review 7 for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DocChef
Rome,NY
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!!!
October 12, 2010
I made this for my husband and WOW!! Easy and sooo GOOOD!!!Easy to make,definately add the pasta as you need it or it will get to soft!!
Review 8 for Italian Bean and Pasta Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizster
East Longmeadow, MA
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Soup
September 13, 2010
Everyone I have made this for loves it!
It is my favorite soup to make. Hearty, delicious, and nutrious.
I use proscuitto instead of pancetta. I add rosemary.
It is definitely better to prepare the pasta separately and add to the soup right before serving.
I use petite diced cut tomatoes.
Serve with parmesan cheese.
Enjoy!