Hummus

Tahini, a stiff paste made from toasted ground sesame seeds, is one of the most important ingredients in Middle Eastern cooking. Here it is used to make a garlicky chickpea puree flavored with cumin. If you would like a spicier mix, add a little cayenne pepper. Serve with warm pita or crusty bread.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hummus
Review 1 for Hummus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
runnerbythesea
,Central Coast
,CA
August 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection!
August 14, 2013
I have tried so many different recipes and this one is by far the best I have ever tried. I cooked the chick peas in my pressure cooker for 22 minutes (no pre-soaking) and then immediately prepared the recipe. Time total was about an hour. Result: A creamy and flavorful dish. Thank you, Williams-Sonoma!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Hummus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martawillcox
,London, UK
February 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very delicious
February 6, 2012
Very straightforward and delicious!
Some pointers: I used 2 lemons to achieve the 1/2 cup of juice. I ended up using around 1/2 of the reserved chickpea-cooking liquid to get the right consistency. I will definitely use this recipe again and again!
The yield for me was 3-4 cups.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Hummus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
likeyfood
,Salt Lake City
,UT
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
go to hummus recipe
September 8, 2011
I will never buy hummus or chickpeas in a can again! Both were very easy to make. So delish. Everyone loved it.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Hummus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KnownAs
Linden, Michigan
August 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Delicious!
August 13, 2011
You must try this. I almost eliminated the idea of making my own hummus for my daughter's wedding shower because I have a most favorite store brand and I didn't think anything could top it. 2 days before the shower the store brand I liked was not available. I made this recipe and couldn't believe how wonderful it is! Totally tops my once favorite hummus. Will not go back!!!
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, the fresh lemon juice and cumin add much goodness!
Review 5 for Hummus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
butterflybirds
philadelphia
July 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best hummus recipe so far
July 24, 2010
I make this exact recipe for my niece once or twice a month. She loves it with lots of lemon.
Review 6 for Hummus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NutriVie
New York, New York
June 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and Authentic Recipe
June 24, 2010
This is by far the best hummus recipe I have ever tried. I have been to the Middle East several times and this was very similar to the hummus I ate at top restaurants while there. This is the perfect appetizer whether you are hosting or attending a party. I served mine in the Williams Sonoma mocajeto and everyone raved about it! I followed the recipe to a tee and thought it was perfect as written. My search for hummus recipes is over, I will stick with this one for the years to come!