Hearty Beef Stew

Two things set this old-fashioned beef stew apart from its rivals: browning the beef in bacon fat and adding lots of vegetables to the pot, both of which add flavor to the velvety sauce. The result is comfort food, grandmother style. This grandmother didn't cook with wine, but if you want to, see the variation below.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hearty Beef Stew
Review 1 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nilpi
Beverly Hills, CA
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Delicous
March 10, 2014
This is comfort food par excellence! Definitely add the Cremini mushrooms for a tastier sauce and add a cup of wine (red or white) in place of a cup of broth. Outstanding dish for winter and real winner.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive
Review 2 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greeks
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous for a cold winter day
December 30, 2013
I just made this recipe for my family and it was a huge hit. I substituted a cup of the broth with red wine and added the mushrooms at the end. The result was pure comfort food! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks Williams-Sonoma!
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive
Review 3 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bucas
,New York
,NY
December 25, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 25, 2013
This was the first stew I made. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out wonderful. It will be added to our favorites and made again!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace2005
November 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent recipe!
November 25, 2013
This stew is absolutely delicious! It is my go-to stew recipe and always comes out amazing. It is perfect for a cold winter night!
Pros: Good Value, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cathleen
,Wilbraham
,Ma
Wilbraham, Ma
November 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
November 15, 2013
I have been married for 43 years and have probably attempted to make beef stew just as many times! This, by far, hands down is the best beef stew recipe I have ever made! My family LOVED it! I added some frozen peas and sautéed mushroom the last half hour of cooking time.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SmoothieLady
,Raleigh
,NC
October 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Marvelous Comfort
October 19, 2013
This recipe was wonderful. I followed it exactly, as I always do when I try a recipe the first time. I used the mushroom variation. Delicious, hearty, comforting food! My cooking skills are more in the baking area and usually shy away from meats. I was wary when I bought the $15 chuck called for in this recipe, but it was totally tender and delicious and my fears are gone. This will be a staple in my house from now on and I will enjoy varying it as I go (wine, etc.). Thank you Williams- Sonoma!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, makes me seem like a good cook!
Cons: Lengthy
Review 7 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CleopatrasCat
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Layers of flavor
October 13, 2013
Delicious and relatively easy to make. I added a cup and a half of hearty Bordeaux in place of some stock and I added sliced sautéed portabellas, with the potatoes. This is a nice dish to make on a Sunday and have some leftovers during the week. Perfect for autumn or winter company. I heaped mine over buttered noodles, since I had potatoes in the stew. Served with crusty French bread and the rest of the bottle of Bordeaux!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Adaptable
Review 8 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlite
September 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
absolutely delicious
September 30, 2013
I had only made beef stew once before and not only was this delicious, but it was incredibly easy! I used half the beef (as that was all I had on hand) and added cremini mushrooms and fresh green beans...yum! You would never have guessed I halved the beef as there was still a ton of it in the stew. It was a huge hit and I will definitely make this again!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homecook274
,washington
,dc
February 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!
February 14, 2013
Wonderful, hearty stew....crowd pleaser. Recipe was very easy to follow, prepared the stew in my new Staub Cocotte...this is a new family favorite recipe!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 10 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sari826
,Morton Grove
,Il
September 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Impressive!
September 25, 2012
Every time I make this recipe it turns out amazing!! If you want to impress someone, this is the perfect recipe!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 11 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LISA1111
,SEAL BEACH
,CA
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT WINTER MEAL
December 6, 2011
MADE FOR DINNER LAST NIGHT. IT WAS WONDERFUL!!
I USED HALF RED WINE & HALF BEEF STOCK. FOR THE HERBS I USED 2 TSP. ITALIAN SEASONING ALONG WITH THE PARSLEY AND ALSO ADDED FRESH MUSHROOMS. WE BOTH LOVED IT. WILL DEFINITELY BE MAKING THIS MANY TIMES TO COME.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth47
,Southington
,CT
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very flavorful!
November 27, 2011
I made this stew without adding the potatoes because my family loves mashed potatoes so much more. I served it over the mashed potatoes and it was a very flavorful a big hit. I will definitely make this again!
Pros: Kid-Friendly
Review 13 for Hearty Beef Stew
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mscarmela
,Vista
,CA
November 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cold Night Dinner
November 6, 2011
The stew was excellent. Followed the recipe but next time I would like to try some of the variations. It takes a little time to cook but well worth the wait!
Would definitely recommend!!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again