Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Not your ordinary grilled cheese, this one is filled with Gruyere, sweet caramelized onions and peppery arugula. Pair it with our Smoky Lentil Soup for a satisfying supper (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
Review 1 for Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Socalgirl31
,Encinitas
,CA
July 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort food at its best
July 15, 2012
I love this recipe. It is super easy and guests love the surprise of the onion and arugula. I have served this with tomato basil soup. Delicious!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martawillcox
,London, UK
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious!
February 13, 2012
We also had this with the smoky lentil soup and it was absolutely incredible together.
This also has an infinite amount of varities - we tried it with blue cheese, wholegrain mustard, white cheddar, and spinach. Delicious!
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Junebugs
,MI
Michigan
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A quick and easy go-to recipe in my pan of choice!
October 14, 2011
My family loves this quick & easy Grown-Up sandwich! I like it for lunch or dinner and it takes no time at all to make. It is absolutely delicious with the Smoky Lentil Soup! It is one of my favorite meals and it definately satifies the palate. YUM! I am now a true fan of Gruyere! I like to add a half slice of Baby Swiss cheese as well.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Grown-Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom6
Mesa, Arizona
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect complement for a salad!!
August 24, 2011
Our family enjoyed this twist to an old classic! We accompanied them with a healthy salad. Loved the caramelized onions!! We also added some fresh tomato. Will definitely make again!! :)
Pros: Quick, Kid-Friendly, Impressive