Goulash

To give an authentic flavor to this savory stew, look for Hungarian sweet paprika in the spice section of well-stocked supermarkets or specialty-food stores. Unlike most mild American paprika, which adds little but color, this dark red powder has a rich, aromatic flavor that captures the essence of the dried and milled paprika peppers from which it is made. Hungarian paprika is produced in five grades based on piquancy and heat; the sweet type, called for in this recipe, is the most versatile and easiest to find.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Goulash
Review 1 for Goulash
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
February 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Took me Back to Hungary
February 23, 2014
This was good. Very easy and quick. The caraway gives the goulash a unique flavor.
I made this as written and liked it. The only change I will make next time is to add the carrots and parsnips earlier. They need more time than written to become soft enough.
I served this in a bowl over a bed of spaetzle. I will make this again. Recommended.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Goulash
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cocina46
,santo domingo, dominican republic
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a get together with friends or family
December 29, 2013
excellent recipe. done several times, always a success, for family or for friends
The Hungarian paprika gives an extra flavor, the caraway seeds also. I use the consome done at home..
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Goulash
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rgmofnyc
,New York
,NY
December 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Go-to for Goulash
December 2, 2011
I prepare this recipe for goulash at least a dozen times per winter season and it never fails to impress. I tend to use a quick salt and pepper rub on the beef cubes before cooking which adds great flavor. Another reviewer mentioned leaving out the leeks and parsnips, which I understand in a time fix, but I URGE one to include the leeks in particular because they contribute greatly to the thick consistency of the goulash. I can imagine how thin this recipe would be without them and it would prevent it from being a true stew. Also, the parsnips really are super tasty and should definitely be included. All in all, a fanTAbulous dish that will give your kitchen and home the most mouth-watering scent.
Pros: Yield, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Lengthy
Review 4 for Goulash
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
singingmama
Salt Lake City, UT
November 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whole family happy
November 13, 2010
This recipe was quick for a dutch oven meal - it took just over an hour start to finish - but the flavor was still wonderful. I left out the parsnips and the leeks because I didn't have them on hand; I'm sure they'd add a lovely character to an already yummy dish. My kids (toddlers) and husband all loved it!