General Tso Chicken

Skip the takeout. Dinner is ready in no time with the help of our stir-fry sauce plus an electric wok, which provides consistent high heat.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for General Tso Chicken
Review 1 for General Tso Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Concord
,NC
Cape Coral,Florida
March 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent GT Chicken
March 17, 2015
We made this for dinner ,utilizing the marvelous Breville Hot Wok Pro we purchased from W-S and it was delicious.
This sounds like an ad for the Wok .The Wok is easy to use and clean and can be put in dishwasher once the electric plug in devise is removed .It is deep and large enough that even relatively large quantities of food do not slip over the edges with vigorous stirring.We
are most pleased with the Wok & recipe.
Winston Reed 3/17/15
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance
Review 2 for General Tso Chicken
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,PALO ALTO
,CA
January 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gen. Tso's sauce
January 29, 2015
While I appreciate W-S is trying to sell their products, isn't buying the equipment enough? I would prefer a "use our bottled sauce or..." There's a freshness of ingredients needed that no bottle can provide.
For 1.5 lb chicken legs (1 lb deboned - save for stock):
2.5 T Double Dark or Mushroom Soy sauce
1 t mince fresh garlic
1 T minced fresh ginger
2 T Hoisin Sauce
1 T sugar
1 T white rice wine vinegar
1.5 t Shaoxing or Sherry wine
The biggest problem is that Gen. Tso's Chicken is NOT a stir-fry but a deep fry of the chicken, coated in 2 T cornstarch, in 3-4 cups of peanut oil, does not include any vegetables except sliced scallions and does include 8 to 10 hot Thai chilli peppers.
Pros: Quick
Cons: Ingredients
Review 3 for General Tso Chicken
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Townsend
,MA
Massachusetts
February 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awful Waste Of Money
February 26, 2014
Worst meal I ever made. Tossed it all in the trash and went out for General Tso Chicken. Waste of time, money and good food.
Cons: Taste, Cost
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
notmtwain
Posted January 24, 2015
Wok frying like deep frying needs a thermometer
Trying to imagine what could have gone wrong for you. Perhaps the oil was not the right temperature. I used a deep frying thermometer and waited til the oil was at 335F. The chicken pieces came out crispy with that glazed crunch you get at a good Chinese restaurant and I thought the sauce was very tasty..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for General Tso Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bellevue
,WA
March 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's all in the sauce and the wok
March 20, 2013
This is a terrific dish, that can be put together with very little forethought,
The General Tso's Stir-Fry Sauce gives this entrée the authentic snap it needs and the high heat of the wok keeps the food cooking without steaming...dancing on the oil.
The prep time is minimal and cooking time isn't more than 10 minutes from turning on to service. Great family-style dinner!
It also LOOKS beautiful on the serving plate.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again