Fried Rice with Thai Basil (Khao Pad Bai Kraprow)

Fried rice originated in China as a way to use up leftover cooked rice. Wherever fried rice is prepared in Asia, local cooks add regional ingredients and seasonings. This means Thai cooks mix in garlic, chili and basil with delicious results. The versatility of this dish welcomes a variety of vegetables, while other seafood or meats can be substituted for the shrimp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fried Rice with Thai Basil (Khao Pad Bai Kraprow)
Review 1 for Fried Rice with Thai Basil (Khao Pad Bai Kraprow)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DrJenny
Novi, MI
September 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick, Easy Use for Thai Basil
September 25, 2012
Had some Thai basil in the garden needing using before the frost comes. This was an easy meal for a weeknight. We had higher hopes for it based on other reviews and found it a little lackluster despite the fact that we followed directions as posted. It was good, and we liked it, just didn't love it.
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 2 for Fried Rice with Thai Basil (Khao Pad Bai Kraprow)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
July 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice flavor
July 15, 2012
Very easy and great flavor!
I didn't have Serrano pepper this time but I will use it next time. Heat will give a nice touch to the dish, I think.
I will definitely use Thai basil instead of the regular basil. Flavor is much different.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Fried Rice with Thai Basil (Khao Pad Bai Kraprow)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marshajean
,LaGrange
,IN
March 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful fried rice dish!
March 30, 2012
This recipe was awesome! We loved all the flavors in it and the cilantro garnish just made it better! I've made this twice and the second time I also added Mahi Mahi, lightly stir fried along with the shrimp. Yummy! It's definitely in my keeper recipe box!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Fried Rice with Thai Basil (Khao Pad Bai Kraprow)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karen444
January 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, fast and healthy
January 23, 2012
Great flavors in this dish. Perfect for two good-sized servings (although, I admit if there were more, I would have happily had a 2nd serving.)
I doubled the garlic, used 2 large serranos, 3 cups of cooked jasmine rice, and 1/2 lb of medium shrimp. Still wish there were more shrimp.
I also used only 1T of the light soy sauce along w/ the fish sauce. Any more I think would be too much.
Cook time, including prep, was about 30 mins. I will definitely make this again.
Thank you!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Fried Rice with Thai Basil (Khao Pad Bai Kraprow)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shooboda
,Washington
,DC
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Try Not To Gobble
January 6, 2012
This is a great recipe and a great way to use leftover rice (actually, you should just make rice specifically for this recipe and forget about whatever you had originally indended to make). It's also great for leftovers (if there is any) and you can make a ton of it (which you will want to do).
Pros: Yield, Good Value