Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake

Crumbly sweet toppings are sprinkled as a final layer on top of coffee cakes or muffins before baking or are sometimes used as a filling. Another term for this common topping is streusel, a German word that means sprinkle. Such toppings consist of flour; sugar; sometimes spices, nuts or citrus zest; and butter. The butter, either melted or cut into pieces, is worked into the flour and other ingredients to form coarse crumbs. Streusel toppings bake into a crumbly or crusty texture, depending on the ingredients used.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
Review 1 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
wabisabilady
,Eureka
,CA
United States
September 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for me
September 29, 2012
My crumb cake looks just like the picture, this should have been a clue as I see the texture of the cake looks dense and dry, maybe that was because I had to increase the oven temperature to 425 and bake another 30 min.after baking the recommended 30 min. at 350, in order to pass the toothpick test and to brown the wonderful topping that I will use on my Orange Muffins.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Texture, instructions
Review 2 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookat106
,Rochester
,NY
September 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful for a brunch
September 19, 2012
I tried this recipe many times. It is wonderful with sliced plums, apples, or peaches, or blueberries or raspberries!! I substituted plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream in the cake. The butter crumb topping is delicious. I also added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the crumbs. Makes a terrific cake to go with coffee.
The cakes with larger sliced fruits take a little longer in the oven (maybe 10-15 min more).
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathrynscooking
,Houston
,TX
Spring, Texas
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Favorite
January 8, 2012
I have made this delicious cake 3 times. It is a bit tart so I sprinkled 1/4 cup sugar on the raspberries and let them sit to sweeten a bit. Baking time takes longer than the recommended time for the center to be done, about 20 more minutes (in my oven). The topping is perfect. It is a rich, moist cake that rises beautifully and tastes divine.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: cooking time not long enough
Review 4 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laila
,montreal
,QC
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
exactly like the picture!
October 14, 2011
great recipe! cake base was absolutely delicious. moist, and perfect amount of sweetness. crumb came out crunchy and added a great dimension to the cake. i followed the recipe to a T. only problem with my cake (nothing to do with the recipe) was that the raspberries were too tart and kind of hurt the rest of the cake. maybe mush the raspberries and mix 1/4 cup sugar to add a little sweetness if they're not sweet enough on their own. other than that, this is the perfect little cake for brunch or snack! thank you WS
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kimbobalina
Seattle
August 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yes yes YES!
August 5, 2011
this is decadent, wholesome, simple, complex, and I can't decide whether the berry part or the cake part is the best part.
the crumb of the cake is awesome, and something happened when the berries started to lose their juice in the oven, mixing with the batter to form a sort of custardy layer surrounding the understory of the lower berries. The upper berries are ensconced in the crunchy crumb, for a nifty simultaneous taste experience. I baked this a full 30 minutes longer then the recipe said. I even have a convection oven and didn't lower the temp as often advised. It might be that I added one more cup of raspberries, which were really fresh and moist about 5 minutes off the vine, so maybe too much liquid in them? I left it in until the crumble on top got really nicely toasted, worried that I would dry out the cake part, but no worries, it was perfect.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TriedNTrue
Los Angeles, CA
July 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A good recipe
July 17, 2011
This is an incredible recipe. I used organic sour cream and doubled the raspberries; I also use organic less refined sugar and I decrease that a little. The texture was out of this world. It was really nice to have a good recipe shared. I had tried this right after I bought a bunch of berries without the proper pan; and it rose alot, had to put a pan underneath. After I made this the first time I was so impressed I went out and bought 3 springfoam pans, all different sizes. It rises alot, so don't underestimate this when you think it's only a little batter in the 10 inch pan.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ManInTheKitchen
clear lake, tx
July 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good, but turned out a bit dry
July 30, 2010
i know this is supposed to be a coffee cake and thus isn't supposed to be super moist. however, i thought it was a bit on the dry side.
i will definitely add more raspberries next time...it could have used a few more.
Review 8 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ral226
oakland, ca
May 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yum doesn't even begin to cover it
May 23, 2010
my husband doesn't even like coffee cake and he is in love with this one.
the cake is light and fluffy, with perfect texture and density. the crumble top is sweet and crumbly and ever-so-slightly crunchy. the raspberries... delicious!!
this is a top recipe for me and one i'm sure i'll be making for years to come.
Review 9 for Fresh Raspberry-Sour Cream Crumb Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nabeela
California
May 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
blah blah blah blah
May 15, 2010
Made this cake 2-3 times last year. This cake is the only way I'll eat raspberries.
P.S: The review headline I initially had was supposedly too "short" when I called the recipe awesome. So blah, blah, blah, blah it is!