French Onion Soup

Meltingly tender onions, meaty stock, and rich, nutty melted cheese-these are the indispensable elements that make this boldly flavored soup a hallmark of French cuisine-and a favorite of American tables, too. Take the time to make your own stock and you will be rewarded with deep flavor and savory goodness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for French Onion Soup
Review 1 for French Onion Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,NH
Williamstown, MA
January 4, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Basic Recipe
January 4, 2016
I have made many different onion soups and I think this one is a good basic recipe to start from. I use both chicken and beef broth,partially with low sodium and season to taste. I also use sliced Gruyere (prefer) to top the crock or bowl since I think grated cheese can settle into the soup not creating that crispy topper. I also use light pumpernickel instead of white bread for added flavor. I use 1 Tsp. of Worcestershire sauce and 1-1.5 Tbsp of balsamic vinegar per 2-3 C of broth or stock to enhance the taste. I also prefer Marsala wine. Cooking the onions slowly and for a long time brings out the flavor and makes them nice and soft. I think this is a recipe anyone can play around with to find what works best.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again, Adaptable, Appearance
Review 2 for French Onion Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monarch Beach, CA
January 21, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, but slightly difficult
January 21, 2015
This was delicious, except it took longer than 30 minutes for the onion to caramelize. I had to turn up the heat, but as soon as I added the flour, the onions began to turn golden brown.
I used 1 cup of sherry instead of dry wine. I think sherry tastes better because it sweetens up the onion. I also added some Worcestershire sauce to give the soup a heavier bottom note of taste.
This makes a lot of soup, it's impressive looking, and it's a good value.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for French Onion Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
November 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best French Onion Soup
November 6, 2013
This is absolutely the best French Onion Soup I've ever tasted. It was very easy to prepare.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for French Onion Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Saratoga
,CA
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent French onion soup
December 2, 2012
This was just the perfect soup on a stormy day.
Followed the recipe except left out the bay leaf. It was delicious. My husband made it as I have just returned home from major surgery. I gave him the recipe, he bought all the ingredients and we just enjoyed what he called "the best onion soup he has ever tasted". I agree with him. We will be making this again. Thanks Wm Sonoma
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again