This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
naellend
,MD
October 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Absolutely delicious
October 11, 2011
My future mother in law made this one night for dinner- i literally had to stop myself from licking the plate clean! I made it at home and it was just as delicious and very easy. We tweaked the recipe a bit- we add carrot and celery along with the onions. also we try to watch our salt intake so I diluted the soy sauce with water to about 50% and I also only used a spoonful of hoisin sauce as that has tons of salt. we serve it over fresh fettuccine and it is so delicious!
Review 2 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
May 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Chinese Five Spice Pork recipe
May 12, 2011
I made this recipe this past week, and everyone loved it.. Even two picky kids. I thought with the Sriracha in it, that it would be too spicy. Not the case. Yum...Going to get after the leftovers tonight.
Adults ate theirs in the wraps in the lettuce, kids ate them w/ tortillas.
Pros: makes a lot, going to take it to a memorial day party
Review 3 for (Unknown)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ajoyce
New York, NY
April 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Overwhelming flavor
April 17, 2011
I am surprised at all the rave reviews. I thought the pork was too salty and needed a sweet side to it. I'm glad others liked this recipe, but I don't think I'll be making this again.
Review 4 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Las Vegas, Nevada
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great for Entertaining and Make Ahead
February 7, 2011
I am a novice cook since the children are grown and all moved away I have discovered trying new things! Just to find 5 Spice was daunting and 5 stores!
The hardest thing was mincing the garlic and using the ginger. I watched a lesson on fresh ginger on my cell phone! I used a slow cooker for 4.5 hours and it turned out YUMMY! This is Weight Watcher friendly at 7 points a serving in case this is important to someone other than me.
Review 5 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SurfCityY
california
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
superbowl hit
February 6, 2011
This was a superbowl party hit! After browning the pork and then the onion mixture I put this is my crock pot! I gave my guests the option of doing lettuce wraps or sliders! It was fabulous!
Review 6 for (Unknown)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
annieladybird
ma
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
make it yourself
February 6, 2011
I made my own 5 spice blend after looking at a few recipes. Easy to put together and covered many of my favorite flavors/ textures, sweet, savory, fresh, smokey, and crunchy! I shared it with friends, got 2 thumbs up by all diners.
Review 7 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shsdlt
Houston, TX
February 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is a great recipe for a crowd!
February 5, 2011
This is a do over! Great recipe. I cut the recipe in half to feed a smaller group, and it was perfect. The meat was so tender. Definitely recommend and will do over for sure!!
Review 8 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItsBABEright
Rancho Mirage, CA
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fabulous Recipe
February 4, 2011
My husband found this recipe. We made it according to the recipe. It was easy to make. 5 spice is a must. My husband recommends mixing chili sauce and hoisin for a nice blend of sweet and spicy. We will make this one again!
Review 9 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jkotfica
San Francisco, CA
February 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Surprisingly good
February 1, 2011
I modified the recipe just a bit (not always on purpose), but it still came out excellently. Basically, you brown the meat, take it out of the pot, and then start the veggies in the pork grease. Add the meat and spices back in, add liquid, and let it cook for a few hours. Served it for dinner wrapped in lettuce with brown rice, slivered carrots, cilantro, and lime juice. Quite easy and surprisingly good for so few ingredients.
Review 10 for (Unknown)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
judiP
New Jersey
January 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Puzzled by recipe
January 31, 2011
This is a very tasty dish. However, I was puzzled by two things:
1. The spice rub mix wasn't enough to cover all ten large pieces of pork, so I tripled it. That worked except it was too salty.
2.The recipe instructs to skim the fat off the sauce, but no suggestion as to what to do with the sauce.
Otherwise, it was enjoyed by all and I like the other reviewers' serving suggestions.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CEBR
Phila, PA
Posted February 7, 2011
Sauce
I also did a bit differently. I put the shredded meat back into the sauce, but then strained it. Then put the sauce in the fridge and took the fat off after it solidified. I served the sauce on the side with the rice and pork for those who didn't want to wrap, or had it to add to their wrap as a sauce.
Everyone loved this recipe!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
powerleochex
Poulsbo, Wa
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect at home chinese wraps for group
January 17, 2011
Excellent for award show groups.
Tastey, controllable spicey-ness.
Crock-potable, it's on the list of favorites.
Served it on big flour tortillas. MMMM-GOOD
Review 12 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunnyinMN
Minnesota
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Healthy...sublime
January 17, 2011
These are wonderful...do give them a try. Very simple to prepare, great recipe for a weekend when you want to putter around in the kitchen. The aroma is heavenly. These are very healthy, but don't tase like it...my kind of food! I was out of hoisin at home and didn't want to make a run to the grocery store, so subbed a hoisin/teriyaki marinade that I had on hand. Turned out perfectly!
Review 13 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EvaR
Albuquerque, NM
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good and quick
January 12, 2011
I halved this recipie and it was plenty for a family of four plus left-overs. It has a sweet taste/smell and it was very easy and quick to prepare. I served it with rice, radishes, green onion, limes and slivered almonds. Delish !! worked great as left-overs too. Probably better for a big crowd as an appetizer but worked well as a meal too
Review 14 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
February
Everett, WA
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Loads of Flavor!
January 12, 2011
Super delicious! The flavors warm your palate and delight your senses. Hoisin sauce is an essential and tasty drizzle on top or to dip (if you're skillful enough not to break the lettuce). We had leftovers the next day, using the same ingredients, but made it a salad. I plan to make a batch of the pork and freeze it in portions. That way, it's a quick and healthy meal with little work or preparation!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
peggala
Centennial.CO
Posted January 24, 2011
yum
This is a great recipe - and makes enough for several meals. I plan to serve
leftovers over rice, with the same condiments.l Five stars
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mel1
Saint Paul, Minnesota
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious Dish for the Entire Family
January 6, 2011
Preparing this recipe was a fun, multi-generational effort for my family. My 5 year old son, my Dad and I prepared this for the rest of our family. Everyone loved it. To ensure it wasn't too spicy for the little ones, we reduced the sriracha chili sauce by more than half - this worked well. We also served tortillas as an additional wrap option. My picky young sons thought the pork was amazing! We will be making this again!
Review 16 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bjohnsonpa
Philadelphia
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great for a group!!
January 6, 2011
I love the pork. My wife and I made a burrito bowl using the pork, white rice, cilantro, black beans and shredded lettuce. Any way you use it this is a delicious recipe.