Devil's Food Layer Cake

The secret behind this moist, rich chocolate cake is mixing the cocoa powder-use natural, not Dutch process-with boiling water, which allows the chocolate flavor to blossom and adds extra moisture to the crumb. This time-honored favorite, layered with velvety chocolate frosting, makes the ultimate cake for a birthday or other celebration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Devil's Food Layer Cake
Review 1 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NikkiCanada2014love
February 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the best I have tried
February 11, 2014
I have tried doing this one twice for 2 families and both of them said it was dry. The horrible thing is I had to find out from other people that herd this from them. I love the receipts from here so I was pretty upset to see others did not like it :(
Review 2 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,New York
,NY
August 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Moist and Rich cake
August 30, 2013
I have made this cake for my boyfriend's past 2 birthdays and valentines day. He loves it and keeps requesting it as the cake to make for every celebration. The recipe is straight forward and I have never had it come out badly so far, and I am not much of a baker. My boyfriends mother who is a baker and has a blog "A Cake Bakes in Brooklyn" even asked where I got the recipe from. Great recipe!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shorty1182
,MN
March 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderfully Moist, Yet Sturdy for Decorating
March 13, 2013
This Devil's Food Cake is SO good. I did add 2 squares of Bakers chocolate to the boiling water and cocoa mixture, which I think helped give it a stronger chocolate flavor. I will probably add a tsp of Espresso powder next time as well. Instead of the chocolate frosting between layers, I did a raspberry filling to jazz it up a bit. However, I did NOT care for the frosting. It was a little too sweet for me. I much prefer an Italian chocolate buttercream to this Americanized version with the confectioner's sugar. Not a big fan of powdered sugar. I decorated the cake with a fondant tractor and modeling chocolate farm animals for my son's birthday. It held up well under the weight. This will be my go-to recipe for a Devil's Food Cake!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nabeela
,San jose
,Ca
California
June 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome cake
June 1, 2012
I didn't have buttermilk, so I used the old trick of adding vinegar to milk and letting it stand for 15 minutes, and the cake came out perfectly :-)
The frosting recipe is almost like a ganache. I guess it's not much different from ganache since it usually has chocolate, sugar and cream too :-)
I used 1 lb confectioners sugar and the amount was perfect for the frosting. For such an easy cake that feeds 16, I think this recipe deserves 5 stars.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 5 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RedRaven
,Scottsdale
,AZ
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chocolate Cake Ever
January 13, 2012
I have been searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe for years! This is, hands-down, the best ever. The only addition I made was 1 tablespoon of espresso powder. I also used 2% milk in the frosting instead of heavy cream. Be sure and use a quality cocoa powder. I used Valrhona.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 6 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizzieMcB
,Buffalo Grove
,IL
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fab Frosting!
January 11, 2012
I made this frosting, and have yet to try the cake recipe. It was a fabulous, rich, ganache-like frosting. I did add a dash of salt, to help bring out the flavors.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LizzieMcB
Posted February 6, 2012
Update-made the cake-delicious!
This is my new go-to chocolate cake recipe. Out of this world--moist and delicious!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
klloch
,Collierville
,TN
West TN
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DON'T MISS THIS ONE!
December 25, 2011
Without a doubt this is my new favorite chocolate cake! The frosting is creamy, smooth and soooooo good. The cake is soooooooooooo moist! I did add a little bit of finely ground epresso to the batter (about 1 tbsp) just cuz it always brings out chocolate! !
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jcrown143
IL
Posted January 11, 2012
frosting
I thought the frosting was okay. To me it had way to much of a cocoa flavor. Did you find that? I am wondering if I did not add enough buttermilk? Suggestions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,MO
October 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This frosting is divine!
October 21, 2011
I was so excited to try this frosting recipe and haven't even made the cake yet :) I now have an absolute favorite chocolate frosting and had no idea how easy it could be to make. Thank you!! Can't wait to make the cake tomorrow to go with it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jcrown143
IL
Posted January 11, 2012
frosting
I made this cake last night. I find the frosting to taste to much like cocoa. Did yours taste a lot like cocoa? I am wondering if i did not add enough buttermilk???
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bailey426
Chicago, IL
May 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Devil's Food Cake EVER!
May 7, 2011
This cake was easy to make and other than the buttermilk and whipping cream, I had all the ingredients on hand.
Very moist and delicious.
Made it last night and it is GONE!!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again