Cuban Chicken

You can substitute 3 lb. boneless pork shoulder, cut into 2-inch chunks, for the chicken. The cooking time should be increased to 3 to 4 hours at the high-heat setting or 6 to 8 hours at the low-heat setting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuban Chicken
Review 1 for Cuban Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
slowcookingmama
,West Springfield
,MA
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Used chicken breasts and it melted in your mouth!
January 1, 2013
We are trying to eat really healthy, so we used 6 chicken breasts instead. I used 4 medium yellow onions. Spices I used all WS : Mexican oregano, turkish bay leafs, sweet basil, thyme leaves, & dried lime peel. I did the chicken breast with salt & pepper on both sides and put my Cuisinart slow cooker at 450 to brown chicken on both sides. Took the chicken out and added the diced onion an stirred until translucent. threw chicken back into slow cooker, added 1 cup of OJ, the juice of 5 limes and threw all the spices on top, cooked on low slow cook for 6 hours- it was awesome!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cuban Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pakiderm
,Albuquerque
,NM
May 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for weeknights or large dinner parties!!
May 15, 2012
This recipe came out delicious. Following the advice of other reviewers I made some adjustments. I added chilli powder and smoked paprika and some fresh thyme to the chicken. I served with maduros (black plantains fried and topped with brown sugar) and basmati rice with black bean and corn mixed in. I also served up chips with mango salsa. I made the recipe for about eight people. It was absolutely fantastic and smelled wonderful. Vibrant citrus flavor! I can't wait to try this with pork.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Cuban Chicken
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jillyneutron
,San Jose
,CA
April 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Minimal fuss, great results
April 25, 2012
I had a package of pork shoulder cuts that didn't know what to do with. I really didn't want to go the bbq route (again!). This recipe called out to me the minute I saw "Cuban". First of all, you don't need much to prepare this meal. The only special item I needed was lime juice - everything else was already in my pantry. The pork ended up very tender, with just a hint of citrus. At first I thought it might end up too tart, like key lime pie. No worries, it's perfect. The recipe calls for 1 teaspoon of salt, but I felt it needed a bit more. You can either add salt to taste or throw something salty on top (like sliced green olives), which added color to the presentation and the extra salt it needed. This is a good basic dish, with lots of room to spice it up the way you like. Served over basmati rice, it was a hearty dish. I used the "hot" setting on my slow-cooker and turned it off after about 4 hours to keep it from getting dry.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Cuban Chicken
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BilliC
,Rancho San Diego
,Ca
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy peasy lime squeezey
November 29, 2011
We really liked this. The tart of the lime is not overpowering and it was really good served with rice and crusty bread. However next time I'll spice the chicken more probably with some thyme, and smoked paprika
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Cuban Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalSal
Madison, WI
March 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even for a Picky Eater
March 30, 2011
Prepared for friends, whose daughter is a picky eater. She had three helpings the first night! They said they doctored the remaining broth to their liking and made a delicious rice meal the next night, too.
Review 6 for Cuban Chicken
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SunnyCitrus
Kentucky
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist and tons of bright citrus flavor
February 24, 2011
I used a 2 lb pork roast for this and it turned out magnificently. We shredded the meat (what else can you do with meat so tender?) and ate it with chopped fresh tomatoes and red pepper in whole wheat tortillas. The flavor of the citrus is just magnificent.
Review 7 for Cuban Chicken
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GardenMom
St. Cloud, MN
January 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Taste; Quick Fix
January 19, 2011
This is now one of my families favorite chicken dishes. We all loved the flavor and I loved how easy it was to put together; not to mention how fantastic my house smelled while it cooked! The lime is not overpowering like some recipes I've made, while the orange juices adds sweetness that the kids like. I have given this recipe to MANY friends, and they have already passed it on!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
QUSA
North Carolina
Posted October 13, 2011
receips
love all ur receips but I don't understand why ur site doesn't have a receipe-saver with it. I would save lots of them to refer to, and I prefer this to printing them out. This Cuban Chicken is gonna be one of my favs this winter!!! It is outstanding!!!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)