Cuban Beef Picadillo

This Cuban-inspired dish is also delicious wrapped in corn tortillas as a filling for soft tacos or in flour tortillas for burritos. Or, serve it over spaghetti and top with shredded cheddar cheese for a quick version of Cincinnati chili.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cuban Beef Picadillo
Review 1 for Cuban Beef Picadillo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
August 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, But Just OK
August 24, 2013
I made this last night. It came together quickly, but I had to make some adjustments to give it additional flavor. As written, it was a bit bland for my taste.
I used smoked olive oil to sauté the onion. To deepen the flavor, I added a TBP each of harissa and Aleppo pepper. I added about a 1/4 cup more red wine vinegar, additional tomato paste, some Chipotle Tabasco and a splash of red wine.
I also added Spanish olives with pimentos. I served over rice, topped with chopped avocado and cilantro. I added lime slices on the side for the juice if desired.
This dish was easy, but as written, didn't move me. I imagine this will be better as leftovers.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable
Review 2 for Cuban Beef Picadillo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodlandbird
,Woodland Park
,CO
May 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
May 9, 2012
My boyfriend is half Cuban and was thrilled when I said we were going to make picadillo. Though this recipe is different (especially the spices) from his Cuban mother's recipe, we left it as is with just a few changes: we added 1/2 cup rinsed capers and 3/4 cup Spanish olives with pimentos, and because of the salt of the olives added no salt to the recipe at all. The meal was easy to prepare, the result was wonderful, and most importantly, my boyfriend was very pleased with it. We love cooking together and after a long day this was a nice break from our usual complicated (but fun!) recipes.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Cuban Beef Picadillo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
November 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick Weeknight Dinner
November 14, 2011
I work late most days and am always looking for a quick meal to fix after I get home.
This was a really easy meal to prepare.
I served over the rice tonight but I'll try with tortillas next time.
I need to remember to spoon off the fat after beef is cooked next time. I had to spoon off a quite bit of fat while simmering.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Cuban Beef Picadillo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RECIPEMAVEN
Boston, MA
May 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
FLAVORFUL!
May 25, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe for it's spice and diversity. I served over rice and in tortillas and both were good. Next time I make it, I am using it as the filler in stuffed peppers. Another plus is that it is easy and quick to make on a weeknight . . . my kind of recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again, taste
Review 5 for Cuban Beef Picadillo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lorlovestocook
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful and easy meal!
January 4, 2011
I'm always looking for new dinner recipes. This recipe is great because it can be used in tortillas and offers unique flavors. Great for a family meal!