Cranberry Upside-Down Cake

This festive holiday cake is inspired by a recipe from Lindsey Shere, former longtime pastry chef at Chez Panisse restaurant in Berkeley, California. Fresh cranberries are abundant in winter, although frozen ones will also work fine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cranberry Upside-Down Cake
Review 1 for Cranberry Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
monaskitchen
,Carlsbad
,CA
November 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple & Elegant
November 4, 2013
Recently purchased WS Dessert of the Day cook book and decided to bake my way through the book! It was so simple and quick to make. My family & friends loved it and were full of compliments. The cake was moist! I will definitely make this for Thanksgiving and add a little orange zest on top of the cranberries before I put the cake batter on top. Served with whip cream or vanilla ice cream as a small bonus!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Cranberry Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
adoena
,Tipp City
,Oh
September 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
PRIZE WINNER!
September 27, 2011
This is a fabulous cake. Not too sweet. People can't keep away from it. I won the Chef's Choice Award at a local family restaurant's Ladies Night Out with it. The cake is light, moist, and easy. Unexpected use of cranberries that is really satisfying.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Cranberry Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SandySLW
Brea,CA
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cranberry lover
January 9, 2011
If you love cranberries, you will love this cake. I made it for Thanksgiving and had several special requests to make it again for Christmas. The leftovers (if you have any!) are great in the morning, warmed and with a cup of coffee. Very pretty on a glass cake plate.
Review 4 for Cranberry Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Britnut234
Knoxville, TN
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious cake
December 28, 2010
I've tried a few cranberry upside down cakes, and this takes the cake! I like the tartness of the cranberries and the flavor of the cake. So yummy!
Review 5 for Cranberry Upside-Down Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
millicon
Indianapolis, IN
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even people who don't like cranberries like it
December 11, 2010
It's great! Tender, yummy cake with the tart cranberries and sweet brown sugar glaze. The only beef I have is that it needs a 9" round pan. Most of us only have 8" round cake pans. Me, I used the extra for a small "appetizer" cake.
Review 6 for Cranberry Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobbieM
Reading, MA
October 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
elegant and delicious dessert
October 13, 2010
I made this upside cake several times -- once for a baby shower, Thanksgiving and also brought it into work....everyone loves it and the color of the cranberries look so pretty!
Review 7 for Cranberry Upside-Down Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rebuschka
San Antonio, TX
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best Upside Down Cake ever.
April 30, 2010
I have made this recipe several times for home entertaining and for larger dinner functions. It is always met with oohs and aahs. While some desserts are left with half on the plate, I have seen people use their fingers to remove the last sugar and few cranberries on plate. Always a good sign to the cook. I give this 5 stars because there is not 10.