Cranberry-Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Streusel Topping

Made from butter, flour, sugar and sometimes nuts, streusel cooks into a topping similar to the American crisp and the British crumble, terms that are often used interchangeably. Streusel can be sprinkled over muffins, cupcakes, pies or fresh, soft fruit before baking. In the oven, the butter melts and causes the dry mixture to cook into a crisp, crumbly topping. Without the butter, the mixture would simply scorch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cranberry-Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Streusel Topping
Review 1 for Cranberry-Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Streusel Topping
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nmmiller17
,Downingtown
,PA
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with Tea for Breakfast
January 22, 2012
Feeds a crowd and easy to whip up for a breakfast or brunch gathering. I substituted greek yogurt for the sour cream and 1 cup of fresh cranberries for the 1/2 cup dried cranberries. I also sprinkled cinnamon and nutmeg on the topping before putting it in the oven. A few things I may do next time - add more spices to the overall batter or mix in with the topping as it was a tad bit bland for my taste. Overall it was very light and quite a crowd pleaser. Also great for someone who doesn't like a sweet dessert!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: needs some spices
Review 2 for Cranberry-Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Streusel Topping
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gilliden
,allentown
,nj
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
white chocolate chips
December 17, 2011
Instead of chocolate chips I use white chocolate chips with the cranberries , made a better pairing .
Pros: Easy
Review 3 for Cranberry-Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Streusel Topping
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make
November 20, 2011
I was looking for a recipe using cranberries for the fall season. This was very easy to make.
I was disappointed that there was not much cranberries in each piece of cake. I had more chocolate chips than cranberries. I would increase the amount next time.
Overall it is moist and tasty coffee cake.
I used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream.
Pros: Easy
Review 4 for Cranberry-Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Streusel Topping
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Foodette
Seattle, WA
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty good coffee cake
December 24, 2010
The coffee cake had great moisture and texture, the chocolate chips were a fun surprise. However, I won't give 5 stars as there was something lacking in the flavor.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
stacylovestocook
Philadelphia, PA
Posted December 17, 2011
Cinnamon?
Seems like it needs cinnamon. Thanks for putting the note -- because now I'll think about it before I make it!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Cranberry-Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Streusel Topping
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tutobu
México City
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect to feed a crowd and easy to bake
May 14, 2010
I really recommend this recipe. I made it for my family which is hard to satisfy and found it delicious.
It doesn't takes a lot of work and the result is amazing.