Craftsteak Spinach Gratin

In a riff on a traditional steakhouse side, Chef Tom Colicchio of Craftsteak restaurants transforms classic creamed spinach into an over-the-top gratin. It's the perfect accompaniment to our Bone-in Rib-Eye Steaks (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Craftsteak Spinach Gratin
Review 1 for Craftsteak Spinach Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TastyCook
North Libery, IA
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Delicious
April 6, 2011
When I saw this recipe, I mentioned it for sharing at our next family dinner. However, I decided to make it before sharing - great idea on my part. The ingredients are readily available and not specific to this recipe. My daughter who doesn't enjoy cooked spinach loved it. Will make again for both me and the family. Tip - I used tomato herb bread and a sesame bagel for the bread crumbs - absolutely delicious with the cheese as a topping. ENJOY!
Pros: Yield, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Craftsteak Spinach Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookNQueen
Redondo Beach, CA
March 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Make Ahead Dish
March 28, 2011
Loved it! Left out the clove and nutmeg.
Added in 1 C. instead of 1/4 C. onion.
Next time I will add substantially more spinach.
For those who have worn out the old green bean, mushroom soup & fried onion casserole (which I stopped making over 30 yrs ago), it would seem that this dish would be a welcome new side dish to almost any entree.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Craftsteak Spinach Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GRITSgirl
Mnpls, MN
March 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kids will eat it!!
March 25, 2011
This is one for the tweens and teens. My girls loved it and it will be on the menu once a week along with the broccoli, cauliflower and salads.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, uses ingrd. have already
Review 4 for Craftsteak Spinach Gratin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
deborahD
kansas city
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasteless side dish
March 20, 2011
When I saw the recipe in the catalog, I was excited to try it. WS rarely disappoints. It was pretty bland. It would probably be okay with some extra spice in the sauce.
Review 5 for Craftsteak Spinach Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margaret7
Syracuse, NY
March 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gourmet Spinach
March 19, 2011
What a step up for this healthy choice. Served this with broiled salmon. Spinach Gratin stole the show. Due to dietary restrictions I used fat-free half and half instead of cream. Delicious!
Review 6 for Craftsteak Spinach Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefDenise
Denver
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great way to eat your spinach!
March 1, 2011
This recipe tempted me the minute I saw it in the catalogue. It sounded like a creamed spinach with some crunchy topping but it was far better than that. The Bechamel sauce created from the cream and roux was much more flavorful than I expected. You can taste the onions, nutmeg, herbs and even the clove in the sauce but cannot see any of that since you strain it before mixing with the spinach. I used fresh breadcrumbs from homemade bread and I am sure that added to the yummy crunch on top. I served it with salmon but I was craving a steak. This was so good I had it for breakfast the next morning with an egg. A great way to eat your spinach. Yes you do need 2 pounds!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Craftsteak Spinach Gratin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wsgirlinga
Marietta, GA
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Good Spinach Gratin!
February 21, 2011
I made this recipe when I received this steak house catalog and it didn't disappoint! My only problem (and it was a minor one) was that I halved the recipe for my husband and myself and the sauce wasn't enough to cover the spinach. So I added another couple of tablespoons of both the cream and the half and half to make it work. It's a thick sauce so just keep that in mind if you cut it in half! I used swiss cheese in the sauce and it was very flavorful with the parmesan cheese in the topping. All in all, a very good tasting side dish!
This dish is a little labor intensive in preparation (and you dirty quite a few pots to get everything done!) but well worth it when you taste it!