Citrus Chiffon Pie

Gelatin is an odorless, colorless, tasteless thickener derived from collagen, a protein extracted from the bones, cartilage and tendons of animals. There are two forms of gelatin available: powdered gelatin, popular with American cooks, and sheet or leaf gelatin, which is commonly used in Europe. Both need to be hydrated and melted before they can be added to a recipe. Do not confuse powdered gelatin with the sweetened, fruit-flavored gelatin desserts sold in boxes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Citrus Chiffon Pie
Review 1 for Citrus Chiffon Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheVirginian
,VA
April 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good, but not great
April 11, 2012
I liked the pie filling better before I put it in the fridge to set. Perhaps I don't really like that gelatin texture-- which was a bit harder than a lemon curd. I think I will try it without the gelatin next time, or make a lemon curd tart (Alice Waters has a great recipe) or classic lemon meringue instead.
Pros: Good Value, Appearance
Cons: Texture, Lengthy
Review 2 for Citrus Chiffon Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arafto1
,Arlington
,VA
March 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pie Ever
March 16, 2012
This is one of my family's favorite desserts, and I always make it several times each summer. It's so much lighter than a key lime pie or lemon pie and has an awesome citrus flavor. I always make mine with the gingersnap crust, and I highly recommend doing so. It adds such a unique contrast and an extra boost of flavor. Everyone who eats it always raves about it, and it rarely sits in the fridge for more than day because people come back for more.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Citrus Chiffon Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always220
,Chester
,CT
March 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Citrus Pie
March 15, 2012
My mom is a big fan of meyer lemons so on Valentines day 2012 instead of the traditional chocolate I made her a lemon pie. It was very good, a little hard work with all the zesting but overall it was worth it!
-Always220
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Citrus Chiffon Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NevadaSusieQ
,Henderson
,NV
Henderson NV
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tart/sweetness
February 5, 2012
Used the ginger snap crumb crust - great flavors, great texture and and was gone in a flash!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Citrus Chiffon Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lovebaking122
Yonkers, NY
November 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only good on the first day
November 19, 2010
I made this pie three times so far. The first time it came out perfect, it delicious and super light. The second time however, i made it the exact same way using the same pan except i let it chill overnight. my guests complained about a metal flavor in the filling. Because i used a metal pan, i figured that was the reason why. the third time i followed the recipe exactly and did everything the same as the first two times, however this time i used a glass dish hoping to avoid the metal flavor.Once again i let it chill overnight. It did not work, for some reason the metal flavor was still present and it tasted horrible. everything else was perfect, the texture, even the crust was delicious...however the filling was ruined. if you are going to try this recipe, i suggest you do no leave it overnight and serve it once it is set.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TheVirginian
Posted April 11, 2012
cooking in aluminum saucepan?
Perhaps the metallic taste is due to cooking the lemon juice mixture in a reactive pan. Check to make sure your saucepan is made with stainless steel or another non-reactive material before using it to make this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Citrus Chiffon Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NWilson
Tennessee
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavenly! You'll definitely want to lick the bowl
June 8, 2010
This dessert is one of those that you can't believe you've just tasted something so good. This pie not only doesn't last till tomorrow, it doesn't make it through an afternoon. The combination of gingersnaps and lemon is perfect and will inspire you to whip up a little lemon curd for the remaining gingersnaps left in your bag. A definite family favorite.