Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins

Luscious buttermilk is a tangy cultured milk product made by adding healthful bacteria to whole or low-fat milk. Its slightly thick, creamlike consistency and gentle acidity make it an excellent tenderizer in muffins and quick breads. Recipes using buttermilk usually call for baking soda, an alkaline leavener that reacts with the acidity in buttermilk. The resulting carbon dioxide bubbles expand in the heat of the oven, creating steam that helps produce rounded, moist muffins.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
Review 1 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
October 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicate taste, not too sweet
October 1, 2013
This recipe was wonderful because it is not overly sweet. The muffins have a delicate taste for the palate. Of course, everything tastes good with buttermilk. Then add cinnamon and sugar and it's yummy.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alissa212
,Philadelphia
,Pa
October 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Muffins!
October 4, 2012
These muffins were fantastic! They were easy to make and turned out perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly and I couldn't be happier!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawmd
,Gaithersburg
,MD
August 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and so tasty!
August 26, 2012
I love these muffins and they are super easy to make. I leave off the topping and make them on Sunday so my family can much on them throughout the week.
Review 4 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RunningMom
NY
April 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe!
April 7, 2011
I altered the original recipe to make it healthier. I substituted all purpose flour with 1 c. spelt flour and 1/2 c. bran. Used 1/3 cup brown rice syrup and 1/3 cup brown sugar instead of 2/3 c processed sugar. Tasted amazing and much more nutritious. My kids loved them. Will make again for sure.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable
Review 5 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stonegirl
Alaska
April 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tender and not too sweet
April 2, 2011
I made up a double batch. It filled 12 full-sized and 23 mini-sized muffin tins 3/4 full.
I beat the butter and sugar extra long before beating in the eggs. Beating longer in this stage incorporates more air and helps keep the batter light and smooth. This voluminous batter is best handled by scooping into a pastry bag with wide round tip or ziplock bag with cut corner, and piping it into the prepared or papered muffin tins. It saves many headaches and speeds the process.
A 1-cup glass ramekin is perfect for the dipping butter, as a full-sized muffin will slip just inside. I found that the listed quantities for one batch of topping was perfect for a double batch of muffins. I suspect the listed amounts were inflated to account for variances in efficiency of different shapes of containers home-cooks will use. However, who can't use leftover cinnamon sugar?
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissJennyHomemaker
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for snack or breakfast
January 7, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! These muffins were very easy to make, even without a mixer, and baked up beautifully! Using a 2 ounce scoop creates 9 perfect muffins. They taste quite like fresh, buttery cinnamon doughnuts. I especially recommend eating them fresh from the oven, or gently reheating them. I plan to cut the amount of topping I make next time though, as I had a substantial amount of butter and cinnamon/sugar leftover (about 1/3 should suffice).
Review 7 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HollyK
Grandville, MI
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Muffins
January 3, 2011
These muffins were great! We like to invent recipes and my son wanted to try putting syrup in a muffin, so we made these, but put a little syrup in with the vanilla. They tasted great and like the recipe said, were cake-like.
When they came out of the oven I just went over them with a stick of butter (uses less butter) and then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top.
Review 8 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emib816
Michigan
November 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
November 9, 2010
These were fabulous - I didn't change a thing. I served them for a woman's law association brunch and they received rave reviews!
Review 9 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsNewCook
Victoria, BC
October 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Anytime Muffin
October 19, 2010
These muffins are simply delightful. My husband liked them so much he requested that I make a second batch the SAME day! The only change I made in the second batch was to add chopped apple. This recipe is a winner!
Review 10 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasBornTexasProud
Illinois
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for breakfast, brunch or a snack
May 2, 2010
These are a perfect addition to a breakfast or brunch. My family enjoys them for a snack, as well.
Bakes up a wonderfully moist and tasty muffin. No changes are necessary for the recipe, but I did add 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans the second time I baked them. The pecans addeda a little more flavor and texture with the cinnamon.
I have made them in both regular muffin pans and the mini muffin pans.
Review 11 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
auntladdie
Pensacola, FL
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick and Easy
May 2, 2010
This recipe was the 1st one I made on WS site, was quick and easy and very moist. Would recommend making ahead for breakfast during the week.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
muffinmess
Arlington
Posted December 31, 2010
muffinmess
While these muffins were flavorful, they turned out far less than desirable. Once baked the dough was too light and lacked sound structure. The tops of the muffins fell off while removing them from the pans and other muffins did not maintain their shape. I've baked a lot and this was, while not a disaster, not very satisfying unless you like muffin pieces.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Cinnamon-Buttermilk Muffins
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigHossTheBoss
Temecula, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Favorite
April 30, 2010
These muffins are simple but pack a flavorful bite. I make them in my mini muffin pan and they are always a hit with family and friends. We enjoy them at brunch and bring out the leftovers (if there are any!!) for an evening snack - just enough sweetness to satisfy without sending you into a sugar overload.