Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes

With their fragrant cinnamon-sugar filling and drizzle of cream cheese frosting on top, these pancakes evoke all the sweet flavor and nostalgia of that bakery favorite: warm cinnamon buns. The pancakes make a comforting dish on cold winter mornings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
Review 1 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveU2
,Henderson
,NV
May 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So addicting!
May 14, 2013
After buying my ebelskiver pan from WS, I found this recipe through the WS website. They are so yummy! It does take time to prep but it is worth it. My husband came home and immediately smelled something good. He ate 3 as he walked by me still cooking them. The only minor adjustment I made was decrease the amount of powder sugar to my liking. You just can't eat only 1! I think the frosting gives them a "Cinnabon" taste.
Pros: Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5inME
,Holden
,ME
May 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A yummy beautiful addition to the breakfast table!
May 12, 2012
This is a great recipe for kids and adults! I have made it in different ways already…. The full recipe was great, then I decided not to use the cream cheese and it was still great.
Today I didn't have milk and I substituted it for almond milk, the same amount, I used organic pure cane sugar and organic flour and homemade style butter with sea salt; I left the cream cheese out and it was an excellent healthy version with the choice of real maple syrup!
It tastes good and looks great on the table.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jolsenpt
,Sturbridge
,MA
February 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
February 12, 2012
Made it for the first time today...they were a hit! Will definitely make again!
Pros: Yield, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,El Cerrito
,CA
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Melt in your mouth
October 14, 2011
As a lover of filled pancakes, I decided to try out this recipe; it did not disappoint. It was surprisingly simple and nice twist on the more traditional cinnamon roll. I made three different filled pancakes and these were by far the favorite.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 5 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KP2of954
,Bella Vista
,ar
September 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yum, Yum, Yum!
September 9, 2011
These cinnamon filled pancakes are incredible! They pair well with fresh fruit and a great cup of hot coffee. If this recipe seems labor intensive head to your local WS and purchase a can of Ebelskiver mix instead of making the batter!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilpo96
Queens, NY
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a Speical breakfast
March 20, 2011
They taste like little cinnamon buns. Kids ate them in seconds, very good. A little extra work so might not be good for a bigger crowd but awesome taste. WIll be a Sunday breakfast staple.
Review 7 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HubbyChef
San Diego, CA
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So so so good!
February 14, 2011
I made these yesterday for my wife's birthday brunch. She's a big fan of cinnamon buns so I knew she'd love them. She indeed did! The frosting is great for dipping bites in as well. They are a bit more effort than most Aebleskivers but well worth it.
The amounts here worked out perfectly for four adults.
Review 8 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Highlands Ranch, CO
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Sunday morning breakfast!
January 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at using my new WS Ebelskiver pan and they turned out amazing! So delicious! I halved the recipe since I was cooking for just my husband and I, but we ate them all up!
I do not have the turners yet, but I have added them to my wishlist, along with the Ebelskiver cook book!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 9 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Momto3boys
Michigan
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Good - A little time consuming
December 25, 2010
Santa finally got me something that I wanted. I got the ebelskiver pan this morning for Christmas. I planned ahead and had this recipe printed and ready to go. It took me about 30 minutes to get all three components of the recipe mixed and ready to go. I followed the recipe, but I found that 1 T of the pancake mixture was way too much. The first 1T filled the entire well which left no room for the filling and top layer of the pancake mix. I started placing about 2/3 T in the well and topped it with the 1/2 t of filling and an additional 2/3 of the pancake mixture. They turned out great. My kids loved them. I used all of the pancake mixture and filling, but I have enough frosting left to use on another batch. I will be making this recipe again soon.
Review 10 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NomadCook
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great and Easy
December 23, 2010
I love making ebelskiver but sometimes find that making them filled is too much work for a quick meal. I made this recipe but omitted the icing, and it was fast and easy. Each pancake had a great gooey cinnamon center and the filling was a snap to make.
Review 11 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yummyfind
Chicago
November 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Special Occasion Breakfast
November 14, 2010
Although they take time to prepare, these taste amazing. It will be hard to find a recipe that tops this. It's my husbands favorite.
Review 12 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mama2Princesses
Minneapolis, MN
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brunch Favorite
June 21, 2010
I have made these a few times and they are always a hit. We also like to have these just because for a weekend breakfast and serve with fresh fruit.
Review 13 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfabs
Boston, MA
May 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING For Brunch
May 28, 2010
I used these as part of my mothers day brunch this year(2010) and they were a HUGE hit!! Everyone raved about the pancakes and the icing that went with them...my own mother has made them twice since!
Review 14 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RACMC
Abilene, Texas
May 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone loves these!
May 16, 2010
I make these for special Saturday morning breakfasts and when we have guests. They are always a huge hit. I also made these on Christmas morning and it will probably become our tradition as well.
Review 15 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Daune
Greenville, NC
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Weekend Morning Treat!
April 30, 2010
Our whole family has enjoyed this recipe many times. It is our new Christmas morning tradition. It is quick, easy---but doesn't taste that way! We have served it to many guests from teenagers to grandparents; and everyone wants more. They cook quickly--so you may want to use the special turning tools with this recipe.
Review 16 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeleneValerie
Morristown, NJ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious..
April 30, 2010
My Grandaughter's faces light up with big smiles and then there are shouts of joy everytime I make these.
I have also used the cinnamon filling in other recipies.
Review 17 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JWaffles
Toronto, Ontario
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tiny Pockets of Cinnamon Heaven
April 30, 2010
This recipe is like eating tiny bites of Cinnabon in the form of a beautiful little round pancakes! Easy to make and absolutely melts in your mouth, and really fun to make! Could make with your kids for extra fun!
Review 18 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BobKatG
Central Jersey
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a sweet-tooth fix!
April 30, 2010
These are excellent for after-school snacks and breakfasts - easy to put together and tastes a lot like a famous donut!
Review 19 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilmary
Chicago, IL
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
HUGE crowd pleaser!
April 30, 2010
I love my ebilskiver pan, and always make the little filled pancakes on sunday mornings...this recipe however, remains my favorite, and i keep going back to it time and time again. The inside filling of cinnamon sugar butter melts perfectly inside the fluffy balls of dough, and the cream cheese frosting compliments it all beautifully. Everyone loves them, and I'm always asked to make them for special occasions!
Review 20 for Cinnamon-Bun Filled Pancakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AmberT
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Perfect for Brunch
April 30, 2010
The cinnamon bun filled pancakes were so much easier to make than I thought they would be and I am not an experienced cook. They were moist on the inside and golden brown on the outside. I actually took a picture of them when they were done to send to my mother bc I couldn't believe I actually made them!