Chicken Tagine with Lemon & Olives

Tagines are savory Moroccan stews that are cooked and served in vessels of the same name. These slow-simmered dishes are characterized by their fragrant spices and rich, complex sauces. Here, our chicken tagine incorporates Preserved Lemons, which are easy to prepare (see related recipe at right). They imbue the dish with an intense lemon flavor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Tagine with Lemon & Olives
Review 1 for Chicken Tagine with Lemon & Olives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KibblesMom
,Lewisville
,TX
June 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chicken Ever......
June 23, 2013
I've made this chicken for my husband 3 times now and every time it comes out better and better. Last night I made it on The Big Green Egg as it was a really hot afternoon here in Texas. He loves this recipe and the flavor of the chicken. I even have the same orange red Tangine in the picture. I highly recommend this dish if you want to surprise you husband or family with a wonderful hearty, healthy & flavorful chicken dinner.
Make sure you roast the spices first and marinate the chicken for at least 2 hrs if not longer. Hope you enjoy this dish as much as we do.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chicken Tagine with Lemon & Olives
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Minette
,New York
,NY
March 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A failure; would not recommend
March 16, 2013
Written recipe is quite different from the video and did not work when prepared according to recipe directions. Had to wing it to save the dinner. Don't know how other reviewers got their terrific results following this recipe. Am now hesitant to try other W-S recipies.
Cons: Confusing, inadequate list of ingredients
Review 3 for Chicken Tagine with Lemon & Olives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mariatheresa
westfield,N.J.
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best chicken ever
January 23, 2011
Excellent recipe. I cooked it in a regular allclad pan covered and simmered for two hours.
ALL MY FAMILY ENJOYED THE DINNER.
I will make it again. Thank you WS.
Review 4 for Chicken Tagine with Lemon & Olives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Travh2o
Los Angeles, CA
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Chicken dish ever
August 10, 2010
I decided to experiment with a tagine a few weeks ago and boy am I glad I did. While this isn't the most simple recipe, it's the most delicious. I used homemade preserved lemons (so easy to make) and followed the recipe to a T. The only tip I give is to make extra because you'll be going back for 3rds!! And if you don't have a tagine a dutch oven will work nicely, although I think the drama a tagine brings is well worth it.
Review 5 for Chicken Tagine with Lemon & Olives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GigiA
Frisco Tx
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive but simple and delicious
April 30, 2010
This meal is wonderfully delicious and really quite simple to prepare. I followed the recipe closely and the meal was successful. Be sure to rinse the preserved lemon wedges very well if you use them. They are delicious and give a more authentic flavor than regular lemons. I actually used Moroccan preserved lemons that can be purchased in a jar. Tagine spices are aromatic when toasted and I did not have to refrigerate the chicken/spice marinade three hours to obtain a deep level of flavor (good to know if you are in rather a rush).
I tried the couscous with dried apricots as a side dish. Perfect!
Review 6 for Chicken Tagine with Lemon & Olives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DADA
San Clemente, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Flavors
April 30, 2010
I loved eating tagines in mediterranean restaurants so was excited when i received a tagine as a gift. I made this recipe and was not disappointed. The layers of flavors made this dish really special. The chicken is tender and I love the tang of the preserved lemon. This dish even works without the tagine spices for those who find the cinnamon taste odd. If you want something special to serve your family or guests, try this dish.