Chicken Coconut Soup with Lemongrass

One of the most-requested dishes in Thai restaurants is this soup, called tom kha gai. It is also easy to prepare at home, however, once you have the right ingredients on hand. While you may not be able to find kaffir lime leaves or galangal (a gingerlike rhizome) at your market, grated lime zest and fresh ginger work well in their place. Bottled fish sauce and canned coconut milk are now widely available, so this delicate and fragrant soup can grace your table often.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Coconut Soup with Lemongrass
Review 1 for Chicken Coconut Soup with Lemongrass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vancouvergirl
,Vancouver
February 18, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for workday lunches
February 18, 2014
This soup is absolutely delicious, and a cinch to make. I personally like to simmer the lemongrass, lime and galangal in the chicken broth for much longer than 1 minute - usually about 20 minutes or so for maximum flavour. I will often use chicken that has been leftover from a roast chicken dinner, and that works nicely. I've also experimented with different mushroom varieties, and all work well in this soup. Last, in a pinch, I have used Red Curry Paste (a particular common brand at many grocery stores) in place for the Red Chilli Paste when I didn't have any of the latter on hand. The soup keeps and reheats well, and I've often had it several times in the week for lunch - simple, filling and delicious!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive
Review 2 for Chicken Coconut Soup with Lemongrass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodnfashion
May 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful yet simple
May 18, 2011
Love this! My first try at a thai style soup and it turned out great. Simple and fairly quick. I agree that it would be easy to modify as needed. Not too spicy.
Perfect for my gluten free/dairy free needs.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Chicken Coconut Soup with Lemongrass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lajeunefille
Annapolis, MD
April 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Fresh Dish
April 21, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe. It was so easy and turned out exactly how I remember coconut lemongrass soup in Thai restaurants to be. I modified it a bit because I could not find those special limes and I don't like fish so I opted not to use fish sauce but it turned out wonderful. That's the great thing about this soup too, you can taste it as you go and adjust to your liking (more spice, more lemongrass, etc.). It is so light and fresh while completely filling. Absolutely recommend this one!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Chicken Coconut Soup with Lemongrass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookinUpAStorm
Frederick, MD
August 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great even without the peppers!
August 19, 2010
I had to eliminate the hot peppers due to a food allergy, however I would have to say this is an awesome dish without it!! It was very easy to make and come out spectacular. I used baby portabella mushrooms instead of white ones for added flavor as well. This is my new favorite for a nice simple chicken soup, has a nice tropical feel and went well with the Dark and Stormies we had. This is a very nice dish when you are feeling a little under the weather and are looking for something different then the old standby of chicken noodle soup.
Review 5 for Chicken Coconut Soup with Lemongrass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
misslemons
Birmingham, AL
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing flavor
May 26, 2010
This recipe comes very close to replicating a delicious soup at my favourite local Thai restaurant-- my entire family loves to eat this with rice, and it's very easy to change the proportions of ingredients to make it as spicy or flavorful as desired. Substituting shrimp or tofu for chicken also works great!
I could eat this stuff every other day and be happy. It's a tad too spicy for some of my older relatives, but like I said, it's pretty easy to tone down by cutting back on some of the ingredients.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
larnold46
Alexandria, VA
Posted December 12, 2010
Fantastic Flavor
The soup is amazing. Now that I know where to buy Kaffir leaves, it will be snap to make this. I highly recommend it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)