Chicken Braised with Bacon, Onions and Riesling

In this twist on a classic French recipe, Riesling is the foundation for the flavorful braising liquid, lending its fruitiness and subtle floral hints to the dish. A measure of cognac fortifies the sauce, while bacon adds a layer of smokiness. Small onions and carrots lend their aromatic qualities to help balance all the flavors.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Braised with Bacon, Onions and Riesling
Review 1 for Chicken Braised with Bacon, Onions and Riesling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atl
,Ga
December 23, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite chicken dish !
December 23, 2015
This recipe was so wonderful I plan on making this for company. I served it over rice and used boneless skinless thighs and breasts. The meat was so tender and juicy and tasty! The onions were THE best. The fell apart so when I ate the dish I could easily cut up the onions to be able to taste them in every bite.
Pros: Healthy, Easy, Quick, Kid-Friendly
Review 2 for Chicken Braised with Bacon, Onions and Riesling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Columbus
,OH
Columbus, OH
February 7, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's a keeper!
February 7, 2015
I use a bag of pearl onions and a bag of mini carrots for the vegetables, and for the chicken, I use boneless skinless thighs or breasts, depending what is on sale. The peppered bacon, shallots, fresh thyme, and a nice bottle of white wine really make the dish. I don't usually have cognac in the house, so I skip that step. But I may need to buy some for the next time I make it. This is my new favorite dish to make for company!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Chicken Braised with Bacon, Onions and Riesling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Western suburbs of Chicago
,IL
November 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Indulgent!
November 10, 2014
This was absolutely wonderful--could have eaten so much more if I didn't have self-control! It was not difficult to make, just a little involved. I used 2 3/4 lbs of chicken drumsticks and 1 lb of chicken thighs (bone-in) instead of cutting up a chicken. I didn't measure the salt or pepper, and at the end, I added the thyme to the pot instead of just on the chicken to serve. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly. Served with rosemary potatoes; would go very well with pasta, noodles, or rice, too.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Chicken Braised with Bacon, Onions and Riesling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monarch Beach, CA
November 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & Delicious
November 14, 2012
I substituted frozen pearl onions and bone-in chicken breasts. Wow! What a great meal! Will definitely make this again. The sauce is delicious. I served it with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again