Chicken Adobo

For a variation on this savory Philippine dish, instead of chicken, use 3 lb. beef stew meat or lean pork, cut into 1 1/2-inch chunks.
Average Customer Rating:
2.333 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
3 of 6(50%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Adobo
Review 1 for Chicken Adobo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Imchay
,University aprk
,MD
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommendations
August 23, 2013
With all due respect, WS, I would like to recommend making this recipe more authentic to the Flipino version. No onions. A head of garlic. 2lbs of chicken. 3/4 c White vinegar, not rice vinegar. 1/4 c soy sauce. Add 1tsp of ground black pepper. No sugar. The slow cooker probably works but using a shallow pan and simmering on medium heat uncovered works well. Cook until the chicken is tender and the sauce has thickened a bit. I like making the sauce caramelize so much that it coats the meat. Wen all the chicken is gone, clean the sauce off the pot with rice and have adobo rice!
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 2 for Chicken Adobo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tito
July 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the recipe not right..
July 22, 2013
u have to cut the chicken wash it, put in a pot , put the vinegar asian vinegar from philippines.. (like datu ) soy sauce ..( silver swan) ... just boil it in 30 mins.. then in a another pot .. saute ... garlic, onion,, in the oil ,put the chicken first mix well .. then the sauce,,, thn salt not to much n pepper ,,, n bay leaves ,,,n sugar boil 45 mins,, med high ..... we not put rice vinegar.. and kikoman in the any adobo,,, :)
Review 3 for Chicken Adobo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NYCooker
,New York City
,nY
May 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT MAKE THIS RECIPE
May 21, 2012
Dear fellow home cooks.
Firstly I have to share that I've never taken the time to write a recipe review. Last week I made the coq au vin from WS and it was great!
But this Chicken Adobo- after going through the trouble and expense of purchasing the ingredients to make this meal it's just too disappointing not to try and save another home chef from wasting their time and hard earned money.
I had to throw it into the trash. It was just way too salty. The chicken took on a beef jerky like texture. There is nothing redeeming about it. MAKE SOMETHING ELSE.
Pros: Easy
Cons: Taste
Review 4 for Chicken Adobo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
queenzookie
September 29, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too many onions
September 29, 2011
Honestly, I thought this was just ok. But my husband and my 6-year-old liked it a lot, so I'll keep it in my rotation - although I will cut it down to only 1 onion.
Review 5 for Chicken Adobo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flippitti
Sierra Vista, AZ
April 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavy on the onions but good sauce
April 16, 2011
This was easy to prepare with ingredients that I always have in my pantry. I cooked it on high for 4 hrs. Even after removing the skin from the thighs, there was still way too much fat for me. So I put it in the fridge overnight & removed the fat the next day.
The sauce was good except it was watery & had way too many onions to be appetizing. So I strained the onions out & added some cornstarch to thicken the sauce. The sauce is what makes this dish so good. Made some fried rice & sauteed spinach to round out the meal.
The chicken had an unpleasant texture to me - mushy & a bit dry - but my daughter loved it enough to get seconds, then eat it the next day for lunch. According to her, there was nothing wrong with the chicken texture and she loved the sauce.
I didn't love this dish and don't think there's anything memorable about it but it's easy to make and my daughter loved it so I'll probably make it again for her.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable
Cons: Texture, Taste
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mazzy
Posted July 21, 2011
The sauce is supposed to be watery and the chicken is supposed to be a bit mushy and soft but not really dry.
After reading this recipe I'm surprised they said 4 hours on high. I recommended on low settings for 2-3 hours, turning the chicken every half hour so as to make sure it gets the flavor, and make sure u keep it covered while it cooks. I think the fact you cooked it on high makes it dry.
This is advice from someone who is Filipino, so try it out and see if it helps. Also, you can use drumsticks as well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Chicken Adobo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bianquita
Miami, Fl
January 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super easy!!!
January 26, 2011
So easy to make and so yummy!!! Sometimes I serve it with cuscus, others just with plain rice.