Chicken Adobo

For a variation on this savory Philippine dish, instead of chicken, use 3 lb. beef stew meat or lean pork, cut into 1 1/2-inch chunks.
Average Customer Rating:
1.75 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chicken Adobo
Review 1 for Chicken Adobo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
elizzyp
,Santa Barbara
,CA
Santa Barbara
October 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We like it!
October 27, 2014
According to other reviewers, it's not authentic. Whatever it IS, we like it :) It's quick and easy to prepare. I would recommend decreasing the cooking time as the chicken can get dry. But thank that, it's pretty good!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chicken Adobo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Imchay
,University aprk
,MD
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommendations
August 23, 2013
With all due respect, WS, I would like to recommend making this recipe more authentic to the Flipino version. No onions. A head of garlic. 2lbs of chicken. 3/4 c White vinegar, not rice vinegar. 1/4 c soy sauce. Add 1tsp of ground black pepper. No sugar. The slow cooker probably works but using a shallow pan and simmering on medium heat uncovered works well. Cook until the chicken is tender and the sauce has thickened a bit. I like making the sauce caramelize so much that it coats the meat. Wen all the chicken is gone, clean the sauce off the pot with rice and have adobo rice!
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 3 for Chicken Adobo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tito
July 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the recipe not right..
July 22, 2013
u have to cut the chicken wash it, put in a pot , put the vinegar asian vinegar from philippines.. (like datu ) soy sauce ..( silver swan) ... just boil it in 30 mins.. then in a another pot .. saute ... garlic, onion,, in the oil ,put the chicken first mix well .. then the sauce,,, thn salt not to much n pepper ,,, n bay leaves ,,,n sugar boil 45 mins,, med high ..... we not put rice vinegar.. and kikoman in the any adobo,,, :)
Review 4 for Chicken Adobo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NYCooker
,New York City
,nY
May 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT MAKE THIS RECIPE
May 21, 2012
Dear fellow home cooks.
Firstly I have to share that I've never taken the time to write a recipe review. Last week I made the coq au vin from WS and it was great!
But this Chicken Adobo- after going through the trouble and expense of purchasing the ingredients to make this meal it's just too disappointing not to try and save another home chef from wasting their time and hard earned money.
I had to throw it into the trash. It was just way too salty. The chicken took on a beef jerky like texture. There is nothing redeeming about it. MAKE SOMETHING ELSE.
Pros: Easy
Cons: Taste