Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing

Cranberries neednt be relegated only to the relish that accompanies the Thanksgiving feast. Here, tangy dried cranberries are combined with a traditional chestnut dressing that is also delicious served alongside roast pork.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
Review 1 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
logicalhenry
,Tamarac
,FL
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect stuffing!
November 30, 2013
This is the best combination of flavors. I have tried so many dressings over the years and this beats every one! Peeling the fresh baked chestnuts is a chore well worth the effort. Doubled the recipe for a 20lb turkey and 11 people and it was all gone within 2 days! Excellent recipe!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, mouth watering!
Review 2 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skatermom
,Boston
,MA
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gluten & Dairy Free Version is Delicious
November 25, 2012
This is now our family's all time favorite Thanksgiving dressing to go with the turkey dinner! I always double the recipe and nothing is left over. Everyone loves it, and making it Gluten Free and Dairy Free was not difficult. Last year, I made it with my teenager's favorite gluten and dairy free white bread. This year, I was pressed for time, so I tried the pre-made gluten free cornbread stuffing from the market. Both versions are delicious! I also used dairy free and gluten free butter substitute, as well as gluten free chicken stock and gluten free bulk sage pork sausage. This is a great option to offer guests, who may have food intolerances or allergies and usually cannot eat stuffing or dressing. The nuts could be left out, for anyone with nut allergies and it would still be yummy.
Review 3 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purpledoc
,Goodlettsville
,TN
Goodlettsville TN
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Stuffing Ever
November 20, 2011
We have been making this every Thanksgiving for years. It is the best stuffing ever. A little sweet with a little spice. We always buy the Maron french chestnuts from WS and Thanksgiving is not the same without this stuffing.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Potter07082
,Montville
,NJ
November 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make this with vegetarian sausage - awesome!
November 19, 2011
I've been making this dressing for years with vegetarian italian style ground sausage (Gimmie Lean). My meat eating family and friends didn't believe it wasn't made with meat. I have shared this with family and friends and it's become a favorite of their's too. There are so many flavors going on that you can't tell the difference. It's a perfect side dish to my mushroom nut loaf and wild mushroom gravy. I used to use chestunts but they are expensive and it's awesome even without them. I've never been disappointed with a WS recipe - thank you!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rtvp1003
,Grand Haven
,MI
October 23, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving favorite!
October 23, 2011
We love this stuffing! It has a bit of crunch (chestnuts), softness (cranberry's), and spice. It is my favorite dish to make - the recipe is big enough to stuff the turkey and fill another small baking dish. Family is always asking for seconds.
Pros: Yield, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnonReview
Western New York
March 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perhaps the best ever
March 31, 2011
This recipe nearly provoked a fight over second helpings the first time I served it. I have made it without the chestnuts and it doesn't seem to suffer unduly. The recipe does take time to prepare, but I think it's worth the time. It's become a family favorite and highly successful when I served it at dinner parties, too.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: time-consuming
Review 7 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BoomerSooner
Las Vegas, NV
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Thanksgiving and other meals
November 29, 2010
I fixed this dressing for Thanksgiving this year and my family loved it, they said it was the best thing we had. The recipe was so simple as I am not the greatest cook. I plan to fix it again and again and again.
Review 8 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jieves
Lawrence, KS
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best dressing recipe
November 22, 2010
I too discovered this recipe many years ago and have made it ever since. I have shared it with many friends and family and now it is requested every year.
Review 9 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basalt
San Clemente, CA
November 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our Thanksgiving Staple
November 21, 2010
I have made this stuffing for both Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays every year and it is a family favorite. I modify by eliminating the pork to make it vegetarian. It is so tasty. The cranberries are a perfect compliment to the dressing.
Review 10 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Doherty
Westminster, CO
May 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Thanksgiving Stuffing
May 16, 2010
I tried this recipe four years ago for Thanksgiving, and have been making it ever since. It is our family's absolute favorite.
Review 11 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mavy120
Denver, CO
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
needs even more stars
April 30, 2010
I've made this at least five times, doubled the recipe and it's gone every time. Always get asked for the recipe. Absolutely the best dressing i've ever had by far.
Review 12 for Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Kingsville, MD
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Thanksgiving Side Dish
April 30, 2010
This recipe is not to be missed. Several years ago, i was having a large gathering for Thanksgiving,. Guests included my family, my husband's family and a few friends, with lots of foodies among them! I should preface this review by saying I have always preferred to put stuffing in my turkey since this was my mother's practice and her stuffing was truly delicious. I have always preferred the flavor and moistness to dressings cooked separately. However, I wanted to have plenty of dressing and I wanted to offer an alternative in terms of ingredients. So, I went on a search for a yummy sounding dressing and lo and behold I received a Williams & Sonoma catalog and noticed this Chestnut and Cranberry Dressing. The preparation was simple and it has just the right blend of ingredients and flavors. The dish was a huge hit was everyone at my dinner. Even people who claimed that they hate chestnuts, loved this dish and the wonderful combination of flavors and textures.