Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes

For many Americans, Thanksgiving would not be complete without a bowl of steaming mashed potatoes on the table. Families often have their own special version of this holiday side dish, which takes well to creative variations. In our recipe, Yukon Gold potatoes, which are prized for their naturally rich, buttery flavor, are paired with cheddar cheese to give the dish a robust flavor and warm golden hue. Fresh chives add a colorful finishing touch.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
Review 1 for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mangopapaya
November 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice!
November 29, 2013
I wanted a different take on mashed potatoes for Thanksgiving so I decided to give these a go. So good! The cheese adds richness and the chives brighten up the dish. I used 2% milk instead of heavy cream for a little less guilt. I also whipped the potatoes since I don't have a potato ricer. Turned out great. I will definitely make these again.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
distichic
,San Diego
,CA
July 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cheesylicious!
July 5, 2012
Made this yesterday for a July 4th BBQ. It was a big hit and I will make again. I did add all the cheese to the potatoes and topped it with parm and bread crumbs. After warming I broiled for a browned crust.
Everyone had seconds! This is what my family calls a do-over.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bailey426
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great side dish
April 9, 2012
This was a great side dish. I might try using milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 next time to cut the calories and fat.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Review 4 for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
frosty
,St. Paul
,mn
St. Paul, MN
October 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh chives make it great!
October 18, 2011
The fresh chives took these potatoes from a 4 to a 5 star. They added a nice flavor, texture plus some color. However, I would have preferred the potatoes just a bit more firm. So rather than add all the half-and-half at once, next time I'll add the liquid until the desired consistency.
Pros: Will Make Again, can fix ahead
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 5 for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TessLynn
,Garden City
,KS
October 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I dream of these...
October 8, 2011
Potatoes are a staple in my life. Honestly, I eat them every day; they are more or less in their own food group in my life. Combine my love of potatoes with my even greater love of cheese, and you have me hooked.
These are my dream potatoes...chunky and cheesy with crisp edges...and could eat this recipe at every meal! As it is, I try to save this for special occasions like Thanksgiving and Easter--it's always one of the biggest hits. Even after everyone is stuffed and incapable of standing, we still find the ability to eat more of these potatoes!
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
minnesotaniceandwarm
Northfield, MN
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best mashed potatoes!
November 26, 2010
I have made these the past few years for Thanksgiving to rave reviews! They are now requested every year.
Review 7 for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delilah
Orlando, FL
May 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Make-Ahead Dish
May 6, 2010
I made these mashed potatoes the day before Thanksgiving and stuck them in the fridge for the next day. It is a super easy and cheesy potato dish. The top layer of cheese forms a crispy crust, and the smooth potatoes with the crisp crust makes this positively irresistible.
I recommend this for a simple make-ahead supper
Review 8 for Cheddar-Chive Mashed Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inkgoddess
Scottsdale, AZ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holiday Mainstay
April 30, 2010
These potatoes are on my holiday menu every year, and I still get asked, "you're making those cheddar potatoes, right?" They're fabulous... golden, full of bright flavors, and the ultimate traditional comfort food.