Cheddar-Ale Soup

Topped with toasted croutons, crispy bacon and a drizzle of first-press olive oil, this soup will satisfy hearty appetites on cold winter days.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cheddar-Ale Soup
Review 1 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoxieDeb2
,Asheville
,NC
Asheville, NC
January 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cheddar-Ale soup
January 4, 2014
This is delicious, and even better the next day. We had this as a main course. Very satisfying and filling.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lynnz
,Galloway
,Oh
October 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good soup for fall!
October 15, 2013
I had 5 friends come over to help me cook. One of the recipes we had was this soup. I wanted to try something that we had never made. Very easy to make and tasted great!
Review 3 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KaitlinVT
,Burlington
,VT
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolute comfort food
January 2, 2012
This recipe is a keeper- it is the perfect creamy but not-too creamy, salty but not-too salty cheddar ale soup. I upped the ale a bit since I like it to have that notable taste, but this really is the perfect, easy to make winter soup.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CarrieJK
,Windsor
,On
November 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than a British pub
November 22, 2011
This soup was wonderful. It reminds me of being in an English pub. Easy to make and delicious to eat.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmateurAmalia
,West Des Moines
,IA
West Des Moines, IA
November 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ummm.....YUM!
November 8, 2011
This soup was SO easy to make and SO delicious. I would recommend this as soup course rather than THE dish for dinner. It is wonderfully rich and boasting with flavor. Thank you for such a wonderful soup!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
claregirl
,Newtown
,CT
November 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Soup
November 6, 2011
I just finished making this soup and I cannot stop sneaking tastes. We won't be having dinner for hours but I'm not sure I can wait.
Few changes I will make for next time. I will cook the onions, celery and carrots on low because they burned a bit. I will not use my immersion blender because it just never really purees enough. I'll use the blender.
This time I used a 12oz bottle of Smithwick's and it's great. I also guessed on how many cups 1 1/4 lb of cheese was. I wish they would change that.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: cups of cheese not weight
Review 7 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luckyinlove
,White Lake
,MI
September 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST SOUP EVER!
September 15, 2011
This is one of the best soups I have ever made! I let it simmer for a couple hours and everything just falls apart and blends together beautifully! I cannot say enough about this! FABULOUS!!!
Pros: Impressive
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 8 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Girlygirlrider
Kansas City
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A M A Z I N G !!!!
February 6, 2011
This was my first time making a homemade soup from scratch. It was FUN and very simple! I used Vegetable stock and did not use bacon. I also did not add ANY salt to it as well, and it was plenty salty naturally.
I CAN NOT wait to make this again, and again!!
YUMMY!!!!
Review 9 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
literfairy
Gainesville, FL
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic (adapted for vegetarians)
January 2, 2011
My boyfriend and I made this for New Year's Eve. We're lacto-ovo vegetarians, so we skipped the bacon and replaced the missing fat with some extra virgin olive oil. We also used vegetable stock and a vegetarian Worcestershire sauce. We bought bread bowls from Panera and served the soup in those instead of topping the soup with croutons. We used English cheddars and an English pale ale. This soup is super delicious, but definitely not lactose-intollerant friendly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OrangeSky
Salt Lake City UT
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to Make This Delicious Soup
December 31, 2010
Easy to make using simple ingredients. This soup isn't overly filling, so it is perfect as an appetizer or during household happy hour. Very satisfied.
Family and friends went for seconds and it is truly wonderful topped with chunky cooked bacon and homemade croutons!
Instead of the croutons try cheese crisps with the soup. They are easy to make and will disappear in a flash!
Review 11 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Washington, D.C.
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Soup!
December 18, 2010
This soup is one of the best I've ever had. So comforting on cold days, and with a nice loaf of crusty bread, you don't even need a spoon. We add more bacon than the recipe calls for, but that's just a personal preference.
Review 12 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rookiechef
North Carolina
December 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than a restaurant soup!
December 15, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious. My family cannot seem to get enough. I do have one question. Has anyone prepared this either a day ahead or earlier in the day to serve fo dinner? I would like to make it ahead to have right after church on Christmas Eve.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
flatmtber
Merriam, KS
Posted December 22, 2012
Just seperates a bit
You can certainly make this ahead of time and reheat. The only problem I found in reheating was that the cheese tends to clump in the soup. So reheat throughly and maybe hit it with the imersion blender again.
0points
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Washington, D.C.
Posted December 18, 2010
Great leftover
We have made this soup a day ahead and it reheats very nicely. The flavors come together well so it should be great for you on Christmans.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spagirl352
Florida
December 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a chilly day...
December 13, 2010
This soup is packed full of flavor. We used DogFish Head 90 min IPA and Cracker Barrel sharp cheddar. Very filling and delicious with some crusty bread right out of the oven. Think we will incorporate granny smith apples next time, either on the side or chopped on top, perfect flavor match.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
flatmtber
Merriam, KS
Posted December 22, 2012
Totally agree
Those are really the only changes I have made to this soup in the years since I started making it. I use extra sharp cheddar and a really hoppy IPA. Brings both of those bold flavors out of the creaminess of the soup.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunbonnetgina
2837
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow--delicious
December 8, 2010
I made this deliciousoup on a whim; have made it twice more in 3 days. Everyone loves it. I use a blender when the soup cools and before I add the cheese, freshly grated. This recipe is a keeper. Many thanks. Gina
Review 15 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PJREILLY
Jacksonville, FL
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warm Deliciousness
November 28, 2010
This soup is the perfect complement to a crisp fall day! We enjoyed it thouroughly and will try it with potatoes next time as suggested by another reviewer!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sweets71
South Jersey
Posted October 26, 2011
I just made this soup and I started reading the reviews after the fact. I thought potatoes would be a nice addition as well. Did you ever make it with them? If so, any suggestions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mnboater
Minnesota
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
November 27, 2010
Made this recipe with Leinies Classic Amber Ale and a mix of white/yellow cheddar. Incredible! So flavorful! Serve it the Minnesota way with popcorn. Yummy!
Review 17 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
krats
CA
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mustard is not an ingredient
November 24, 2010
My review is in reply to "Mustard Soup". There is no mustard in this soup. The only thing I can think of is maybe you put in a cup of "Pale Ale" flavored mustard. Pale Ale is beer.
The soup is yummy and I absolutely can not tolerate any thing with any hint of mustard.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
artiste
Chicago, Illinois
Posted September 21, 2011
Different recipe for soup
Earlier catalog printed recipe did not have any bacon, less milk, and with dry mustard! I went online to find the proportions and found this version instead.
Had beer cheddar soup at the Old Fashioned Restaurant in Madison, Wisc., and it was topped with chipped chives and yes, popcorn!
Delicous!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SydneyD
Burlington, VT
November 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy!
November 16, 2010
Awesome soup! Great for a chilly fall day or for entertaining during the football game! We added diced potatoes after melting the cheese for added bulk. Would definitely make again!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lynda1
Sevierville, Tn.
Posted December 7, 2010
Love Love Love this soup!! Easy to make and absolutely delish. Made it the first day we got snow, so it was very cold out. I brought some to my neighbors and they called me to say they loved it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jocelyn
Minnesota
November 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-35points
2of 39found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mustard Soup
November 12, 2010
This is a great soup base, but I didn't realize that the primary flavor would be mustard. If you are not a mustard-lover, I would recommend avoiding this ingredient altogether and substituting something else.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Chrissie1
Franklin TN
Posted December 14, 2010
Mustard?
Im not sure where mustard came into play in this dish, but I believe you confused the Pale Ale with something other than the beer you are supposed to use. I think if you change that part of the recipe, you will be VERY pleased :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Cheddar-Ale Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ASlark
Orlando, FL
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tailgating Favorite
October 12, 2010
This is one of my fall favorites! I make it every year. It's especially popular for those chilly days when you're outside at a tailgate. Everyone loves this soup! It's very filling, so the only side you'll need is warm, crusty bread.
page1 2 next