Challah

The dough used for making the cakelike challah can be formed into a variety of shapes, including braids, rolls and knots. The ingredients go together easily, and the bread looks beautiful when served. For the dinner table, you can form the dough into a pair of small braids or into a single large, spectacular one.For illustrated tips on braiding a 4-strand challah, click on the link at right.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Challah
Review 1 for Challah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SammaLamma
,Portland
,OR
February 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious, soft and moist rich bread!
February 12, 2014
I discovered this challah recipe about five years ago, and have made it at least 60 times. I follow the recipe exactly and it comes out perfect every time. Rich, moist and absolutely delicious. My grown sons invariably request it when they visit. I include this beautiful braided bread on my Thanksgiving and Christmas table, and I make small loaves and serve it sliced thin with chicken salad at my summer garden party each year. I occasionally take a couple of loaves to the office with some homemade smoked salmon cream cheese and my coworkers descend on it like vultures. Everyone who tastes it raves about it. You can also use this dough to make delicious, rich dinner rolls or cinnamon rolls. Makes a lovely and very welcomed hostess gift to take to parties. On the off-chance you have any left over, it makes fantastic french toast too. Highly recommended!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, authentic challah flavor, beautiful braided bread, keeps well (if you hide it!)
Review 2 for Challah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mangopapaya
January 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy to make
January 1, 2013
This was really simple to make. If you've never made a yeast bread before, this is a good one to start with.
I braided this using three strands and didn't sprinkle the loaf with seeds before baking. I baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfectly done. The loaf is huge and it's delicious.
In the future, I might brush each strand with egg wash before braiding to get a little more evenness in browning.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 3 for Challah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CatAList18
,New Bern
,NC
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Bread - Feeds Many
February 1, 2012
I make this bread every Thursday. Quick and easy to make, feeds a large crowd. We love it! The bread comes out golden on the outside and stays soft on the inside. I make this bread for a lot of friends and co-workers, too! Be forewarned, this recipe makes a double portion; if you want something smaller,you can cut it in half. I prefer to share with friends. Absolutely delicious recipe.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Challah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mein248
,Atlanta
,GA
September 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Egg Bread
September 18, 2011
I love this bread recipe so much. The only thing about it is that the yeast smells really bad up in till you let it sit.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Challah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aulait
Coast of York, County.Va.
August 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Lovely, Yeasty, Doughy, Eggy, Jewish Bread
August 1, 2011
Since am Jewish,this Is always prepared and enjoyed on a regular basis.A very good recipe. The Only Change?Poppy Seeds~rather Children Not have them in System. Eating Poppy Seeds too often reads on a Dr.s'work~up, goes for Adults as Well.Everyday?Not a good Idea.Other than that and no not "cake~like" recipe is fine.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: poppy seeds.
Review 6 for Challah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
motokelly
Munising, MI
February 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Challah
February 5, 2011
I love this recipe. Makes a huge loaf of challah that has a beautiful crust with a perfectly soft interior. Delicious!
Review 7 for Challah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kiwifruit
Great Neck, NY
January 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than Bakery!
January 10, 2011
Very tasty bread! The single loaf is HUGE so beware, but the bread itself is so delicious, definitely better than the bakery. Thanks for the great recipe!
Review 8 for Challah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nabeela
California
May 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST bread recipe
May 20, 2010
This is by far my favorite bread recipe. I almost ate the whole loaf myself after baking it. It tastes so, so good with nutella :)
I also tried making french toast with it and it came out so soft and custardy. Excellent bread to have for breakfast.