Cauliflower Mac & Cheese

Our version of this comfort-food favorite includes two kinds of cheeses plus a surprise ingredient: cauliflower. Bread crumbs add an irresistible crunchy topping.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
12 of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
Review 1 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WGitK
,Edmonton
,AB
July 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Absolute Fave Mac
July 18, 2013
Hands down, my crowd-favourite Mac n Cheese. Requires a lot of prep and cook time, but when you're craving comfort food, this is it. With that said, it really does require a few modifications.
Bread crumb topping is completely unneccesary in this recipe. If you really want it, cut the quantity down to about one quarter, as it calls for way too much.
I add a little addtional cheese; depending on your tastes, a blue-style cheese can add welcome zing.
I often use a really good quality spiced italian sausage in place of the panchetta - this is purely personal taste on my end, but it's garnered rave reviews every time I make it. The caramelized cauliflower blends perfectly and even veggie-haters will eat it up.
Pros: Yield, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 2 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momoney
May 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
family favorite mac and cheese
May 1, 2012
My daughter made this for us the first time and we loved it!! Have been making it ever since...for guests,bookclub,and family gatherings. It does make alot..but worth the effort...I love to freeze it in smaller dishes and then cook it when I get home from work or as a side dish when we have company.
Review 3 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mafafa
Ny
May 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste full
May 26, 2011
Easy, good and fast. I added cheddar chesse so my kids like it, and deglasse the pot with wine not water.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 4 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GourmetKiwi
Tampa, FL
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Sharing and Potlucks
April 6, 2011
I have made this several times and shared with friends and neighbors to rave reviews. The first time I made it was for new neighbors that just moved in, and for another who was sick. The second time I made it I added a little bit of White Truffle oil. A friend of mind who "hates" Cauliflower also loved it. Well worth the effort if you want to impress.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Unhealthy, Lengthy, cheeses and pancetta are costly
Review 5 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
watersjl
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty, but needs some work
March 23, 2011
Good recipe. Very time consuming and not as cheesy as I would like. Too many bread crumbs are recommended. I used half the recommended amount, and that was too much! I would make again but increase the cheese and decrease the breadcrumbs. Also, it is a very mild mac and cheese. I think I would add a sharp cheese to give it a more complex taste.
Review 6 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hester
Baltimore MD
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sooooo disappointing
March 7, 2011
I love Williams Sonoma recipes and I was excited to see how well this one was rated. But it didn't live up to its hype. Lots of work for pretty flavorless results. Too much nutmeg and cream, not enough cheese. Overall drab.
Review 7 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NewEnglandNana
Rhode Island
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Time consuming, but worth the effort.
February 17, 2011
I found the prep very time consuming. I made the recipe as offered, a huge amount of mac/cheese. Everyone (including adult guests) loved it, and children who would pass up cauliflower devoured this tasty dish. I didn't find it dry as some reviewers nor too many bread crumbs. However, I opted not broil the top after baking.
Review 8 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
iluv2bake
Southern California
January 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good mac & cheese,
January 22, 2011
I tasted this mac & cheese at a pot luck. It was really good & probably the best mac & cheese i have ever had. The person who made it said she made some changes: 2 cups sharp Tillamok cheese, and 1 1/2 cups of Each of the gouda & fontina & cut the cauliflower into flat planks. She didn't broil the topping. I tried her recipe for the mac & cheese part, but made the whole topping as directed., I decided to broil it a SHORT amount of time ( after reading the reviews). BIG MISTAKE! It actually started to burn after one & 1/2 minutes! The casserole was on the middle rack & not up close to the broiler.
Other reviews were right: It needs less topping and no broiling. It gets crunchy enough in the baking process. It is a lot of prep to make this. I would have given it 5 stars except for the topping.
Review 9 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Inquisitive
Houston
September 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A lot of work for dry mac & cheese
September 25, 2010
I will have to admit my mouth was watering at the thought of some creamy mac & cheese with bits of cauliflower. I spent an hour putting this dish together (even burnt my arm a bit taking the large pot off the stove) and was greatly disappointed in the end result! There are way too many bread crumbs on top of this dish which takes away the moisture and other ingredients inside. The bread crumbs are all you taste and yes, I broiled mine set for four minutes and by two the top of the dish was black and had to be scraped off to be edible. I am not a beginner cook but this sure made me feel like one! It will be awhile before my taste buds search out for mac & cheese...at this point Kraft sounds better than this dish! Don't waste your time unless you reduce bread crumbs by at least half on top. An fairly expensive mac & cheese to be disappointed with.
Review 10 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7finewine
Los Angeles
July 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and easy dish
July 1, 2010
This has become a family & friend favorite.
At every holiday or special occasion, I'll get a request to make a pot.
Going to be making a pot for July 4
Kids can't even taste the nutritious cauliflower :)
Review 11 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Babbles
Hamlin, NY
June 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yum, yum and double yum!
June 14, 2010
This dish was a little fussy to make, but the directions were easy enough to understand. The results were well worth the time involved. It is a delicious twist on homemade mac n cheese. My husband had a very long day of work, and came home to the fantastic smells of comfort food! This casserole is worthy to serve company. I would like say that I added my own twist to this wonderful recipe. I have Celiac Disease, and I used gluten free corn elbow macaroni and gluten free flour, and the results were as stated in my headline. Yum, yum and double yum! It is more than a pleasure for me when I find a recipe that I can convert to gluten free with successful results. Thank you Williams-Sonoma!
Review 12 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chelgov
Austin, TX
June 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the effort
June 10, 2010
I made this receipe three times now and slightly cut back on the amounts each time. I used the recommended pan but there were just too much to fit in. The prep is long, give yourself a few hours to prepare but the finished product is worth it. It will get easier the more you make it. My husband's friends came to visit and raved over the mac & cheese. It is the best tasting I ever had. Put forth the effort and you won't be disappointed.
Review 13 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leigh1286
Rolla, MO
May 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Mac & Cheese
May 17, 2010
I made this for a girls night in last fall. It was great just served it with a loaf of crusty bread and some wine and it was a meal. It does take time to make but the outcome is worth it.
Review 14 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Puppydog
New Jersey
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too much prep time and level of difficulty
May 14, 2010
I prepared this dish for my family. After all was said and done, it was very good but it took me 2 1/2 hours of prep time to construct it. I even purchased the proper dish from WS. I admit I am not a gourmet cook, but the ingredients list was very long, the prep time ridiculous and at the last few minutes when the recipe said to put it under the broiler, which I did, the bread crumbs caught on fire in my new oven and flames were shooting up inside the oven cavity. I had to scream for my husband who came to my rescue and put out the fire. I then scrapped off the burnt bread crumbs on top, and we ate the ingredients underneath. It was very good but I've never made it again and will not. My first experience was back in January or February.
Review 15 for Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefsMom
East Longmeadow, MA
May 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Twist on Mac & Cheese
May 7, 2010
Cauliflower Mac & Cheese
The recipe was easy to follow.
It's a great way to add a vegetable to an old standby, increasing the nutritional value and adding a great twist to the flavor and texture. My son is a professional chef and I impressed him! The whole family loved it.