Caramelized Cauliflower

When you roast cauliflower, it becomes tender and lightly caramelized and has none of the strong cabbagelike odors that usually develop when it is boiled or steamed. Cauliflower is a late-harvest vegetable. Choose snowy white or pale yellow heads free of blemishes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caramelized Cauliflower
Review 1 for Caramelized Cauliflower
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Varviegirl
,Miami
,FL
February 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and Easy
February 2, 2012
I was dubious when I saw this recipe, but I have to say that it delivers. I've made it twice and people always ask me what else is in it. It's so simple and yet just spectacular.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Caramelized Cauliflower
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NickSF
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A truly remarkable transformation.
April 4, 2011
Every time I made this it was a sensation. The apparent simplicity of this recipe is part of the surprise -- the cauliflower transforms into a mouth-watering, sweet and soft vegetable you'd be hard pressed to ignore.
You want to put this in the oven when it is heated up quite well. If you have a convection oven follow the manufacturer's directions.
Another vegetable that shines in the same treatment is another member of the cauliflower family: broccoli.
N.B. Prolonged roasting will cause the florets to shrink and take on a consistency akin to that of cheese puffs -- great as a snack!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Cons: Yield
Review 3 for Caramelized Cauliflower
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlightfritz
washington state
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will make you love cauliflower
March 2, 2011
Absolutely LOVED this recipe and so did my daycare children. They ate the whole head of cauliflower. The only thing that I changed in the recipe, I used a garlic olive oil.
Review 4 for Caramelized Cauliflower
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thinfatboy
St Louis area
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best way to have cauliflower
February 21, 2011
I've been roasting cauliflower like this for a few years now and it's become one of my favorite side dishes. While I coat it with olive oil, my seasoning is made up of kosher salt, garlic powder, fresh ground black pepper, smoked paprika, onion powder, and cayenne pepper. One of the posters hit the nail on the head when they noted that the browner they get, the sweeter they taste.
Review 5 for Caramelized Cauliflower
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nyc10033
NYC
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This IS very yummy and super easy!
December 14, 2010
At first I was skeptical. Salt, pepper and Olive oil? and this is supposed to be good? I even wondered if the other raters didn't know good food, but they were right. This IS very good.
A couple of tips:
- Make sure you do get good heat from your oven; you really want to make sure the cauliflower caramelizes just like in the picture. When I made this, I noticed that the pieces that seemed a little more burn tasted the best.
-Don't overcrowd the roasting pan and make sure that your cauliflower is dry. I washed mine and didn't dry it enough, thus it ended up steaming more and browning less.
The roasting completely changed the flavor for the better.
Review 6 for Caramelized Cauliflower
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harlie
Westfield NJ
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Caramelized Cauliflower
November 26, 2010
This dish is excellent! Served as a side dish with Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. Everyone wss impressed, including two people who never eat cauliflower. It is SO EASY to make, I'm serving it again tonight with burgers.
Review 7 for Caramelized Cauliflower
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookinaway
July 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great for any occasion
July 12, 2010
This is an amazing recipe. It so easy to do. It makes a great side dish for just about anything. And it taste great!
Review 8 for Caramelized Cauliflower
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kbenjamin
Cleveland, OH
June 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this recipe!
June 3, 2010
This cauliflower is amazing. Everyone I've ever served it to has asked for the recipe. So easy to prepare.
Review 9 for Caramelized Cauliflower
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lovedesign
Los Angeles, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
April 30, 2010
I have been looking for a good cauliflower recipe for awhile and this is it! Even my fiancee who doesn't like cauliflower, liked this!