Caramel-Braised Pork

The signature style of chef Pichet Ong of Batch in New York City is "blurring the line between savory and sweet to create a unique mix of flavors, textures and temperatures." Here, he braises hearty pork shoulder roast and fresh pineapple in a savory-sweet sauce seasoned with plenty of black pepper.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caramel-Braised Pork
Review 1 for Caramel-Braised Pork
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BusyBaker7
,Bethesda
,MD
February 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
February 8, 2013
This is an simple recipe that is absolutely delicious! I made it for a dinner party and it disappeared in minutes. The only change that I would make is to cut the sweet potatoes into larger chuncks. After cooking the sweet potates turned more into a mashed potato.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Caramel-Braised Pork
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Flavor
July 19, 2012
I made this tonight for the second time.
Sweet potatoes and pineapple add an excellent flavor to the meat.
My stepdaughter doesn't care for fruit in the savory dish usually but she asked for the second!
Black pepper gives a nice kick to the dish. It might be a little spicy for the small kids. (You could reduce the amount of black pepper)
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 3 for Caramel-Braised Pork
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MBing
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
January 1, 2011
Made this last night and it was delicious. I followed the recipe and glad I did! My husband and neighbors went on and on about it. I can't wait to make it again!
Review 4 for Caramel-Braised Pork
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teamiannone
Orange County, Ca
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Children Loved It!
December 21, 2010
My children have been eating a reciepe a week from William Sonoma since the summer. This one is there favorite. Great Job with the ease of the reciepes my children are really enjoying making food!
Review 5 for Caramel-Braised Pork
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LovelyLilly
Minnesota
September 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful for a weekend sit down meal.
September 22, 2010
This is the first time I browned on the stove and moved the meat to a slow cooker. I had great results. The meat was wonderful flavor by itself. For me the sauce was a bit overwhelming. I did not add the sake which may have softened the heavier syrup flavor. I prefer a bit more sweet potato cut into larger size so they would not cook away. Will do this again with a leaner cut of pork or perhaps a beef. Great recipe, thanks WS.
Review 6 for Caramel-Braised Pork
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jrspinz
Ormond Beach, FL
July 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding for Slow-cooker
July 7, 2010
The sweet and savory description is right on!! The fresh pineapple also adds just the right sweetness and I did add a bit more Sake...A keeper for sure!! Yum!
Review 7 for Caramel-Braised Pork
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whsvolunteers
Los Angeles, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Slow Cooker Recipe
May 14, 2010
I don't usually like the food made in a slow cooker. This was really good. The secret is to brown the meat a lot before you put it in the slow cooker.
Review 8 for Caramel-Braised Pork
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goodfoodislife
Rouses Point, NY
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Slow Cooker Favorite
May 14, 2010
Tried this recipe with my son and we both like it very much. I've since made it for myself and have portions in my freezer for easy future dinners.