Caramel Apple Pie

Laced with homemade caramel sauce, this apple pie makes the perfect finale for an autumn meal. When preparing the sauce, stir only during the first 2 to 3 minutes of cooking, as instructed below.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Caramel Apple Pie
Review 1 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommaflo
,Plainfield
,in
September 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great and easy apple pie
September 11, 2014
I made this the other day for work so when I arrived it was still warm and they loved it. A gentleman said it was the best apple pie he has ever eaten. I took the ingredients and just eyed everything because I am not one for measuring and I used 6 apples for each pie with my own pie crust. I also didn't use the homemade caramel I used Kraft caramel pieces and torn them by hand and then melted some and poured over pie. Hey it was 5 am and I still had to get ready for work. I am in the process of making another for my son now at 11:24 pm. Its almost done so yum yum
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Molly0812
,Cleveland
,OH
December 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd pleaser!
December 24, 2013
Hi made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! It was somewhat time consuming, but completely worth it. Everyone raved. I was actually asked to make it again for Christmas. I know some people said they would use less apples, but I wouldn't do anything different. I used the Emile Henry ruffled pie dish and it was deep enough to accommodate all the apples. Highly recommend!
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Caramel Apple Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeaS2
,San Jose
,CA
December 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pie!
December 4, 2012
If you are using a standard 9" pie dish, then I agree ... 4 lbs of apples is too much. However, if you are using a deep dish pie pan like the recipe calls for, I'm sure 4 lbs is fine. That said, I only cooked the apples for about 12-15 mins, stirring occasionally and the apples turned out fine. Everyone loved the pie! Especially the caramel!! I had to make extra caramel sauce to drizzle over the pie slices and over the vanilla bean ice cream!! It's a bit time consuming but worth it! Love this recipe!!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Caramel Apple Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,oh
September 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tangy but sweet pie
September 25, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but i had premade crust. Next time i will do 3 pounds instead or get a bigger dish. I cooked it over 20 minutes but i had it on low, i just have stainless steel pots and pans. I will cook it slightly shorter then before because some of the pieces have an applesauce texture but some of the pieces are just right.
Caramel sauce is a little grainy but it doesnt bother me. I love the taste, i made extra for ice cream,etc...
I will make this again for my Thanks giviing and i recommended it to friends/family.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy, somewhat costly, texture is kinda off but decent enough to eat