Candied Pear Tart with Pistachios

Refrigerating the dough before rolling it out allows the moisture in the dough to become more evenly distributed, so it will be less likely to stick as you roll. It also gives the fat time to firm up. For easier rolling, place the dough on a marble pastry board dusted with flour or use a flour-dusted pastry cloth. This rustic tart is free-form, which means it is shaped by hand on a baking sheet, rather than baked in a tart pan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Candied Pear Tart with Pistachios
Review 1 for Candied Pear Tart with Pistachios
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChicoTerry
,Chico
,Ca
February 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super easy and delicious!
February 19, 2014
Agree, needed to add a couple Tbs water with the dough. I added it when it crumbled, like the first reviewer but it worked well! This dessert is so wonderful - seems fancy, you wouldn't know it took so little time. I chose not to do the final step with the sugar on top, still was great.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 2 for Candied Pear Tart with Pistachios
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Goldengrams
,Port angeles
,Wa
August 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bland and missing important ingredient
August 30, 2013
Made this for our cooking club. Made crusts my whole life and always added ice water or some liquid. But tried to follow recipe exactly. After refrigerating, it totally crumbled. Put dough in microwave for few seconds to soften the butter enough to form a ball again and rolled out. By the time I had put the pears in and tried to turn edges over, it was dry and crumbled. There had to be a mistake by not having any liquid in the dough and this recipe needs to be corrected.
Cons: Taste, left out an important ingredient
Review 3 for Candied Pear Tart with Pistachios
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ICook4CPC
Cleveland
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful and Easy
January 13, 2011
This recipe was delicious and easy. I agree with previous post---I also needed to add ice water to the dough and it came out perfect. I will make this again.
Review 4 for Candied Pear Tart with Pistachios
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Joah
Park City, Utah
October 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pear Tart a keeper
October 26, 2010
This recipe was so easy to make. It turned out just like the photo. I needed to add 2 tbsp of ice water to the dough as it seemed to dry before chilling in the frig. I also added 1 tbsp of sugar instead of a teaspoon. The crust came out perfect and flaky.