Butternut Squash Risotto

A northern Italian specialty dating as far back as the Renaissance, risotto is traditionally served as a primo piatto (first course), after the antipasto. It is made from a high-starch rice such as Arborio or Carnaroli. The small grains become exceptionally creamy as the dish slowly simmers. Here, butternut squash puree and caramelized onions lend a mellow sweetness to the risotto.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Butternut Squash Risotto
Review 1 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cwt55
,Marietta
,Ga
November 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Autumn Favorite
November 14, 2012
For my first time making risotto, this really turned out well. The flavor of the butternut squash puree and caramelized shallots added so much flavor to this recipe. I actually started it in my Dutch oven and added 3/4 of the liquid, then baked it in the oven for 30 minutes. Really a quick way to jump start this recipe! Finished it out on the stove with rest of liquid, butter and parmesan cheese. Delicious!
Pros: Will Make Again, flavorful
Review 2 for Butternut Squash Risotto
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heidirse
,Geneva
,IL
April 14, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Recipe
April 14, 2014
Fantastic recipe made just as it is written.
For my tastes, I subbed Farro instead of Arborio rice to increase the protein content. I also cut the cheese in half as it's a powerful flavor.
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Uknee926
,El Dorado Hills
,CA
October 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful recipe
October 16, 2013
This is truly a marvelous recipe. Some additions I did where to dice up fresh butternut squash toss with some good olive oil, S & P and roast until the squash is cooked and then I pureed. I also used shallots and yellow onion for the caramelized onion. One last addition - a quarter cup of mascarpone cheese instead of adding in the unsalted butter at the end. Do not eliminate the brown butter sage sauce and fresh diced rosemary and sage - it is a perfect finishing touch!
Review 4 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
swarner
,Greensboro
,NC
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Now Among our Holiday Traditions!
November 20, 2011
My husband and I tried this for the first time last year and fell in love with it! We omitted the onions (I can't eat them) and used fresh butternut squash we steamed and pureed ourselves as Williams-Sonoma was out of the puree. This year we were able to get our hands on two jars which turned this recipe into an absolute snap! We used a white wine and herb chicken broth which replaced the slightly sweet flavor of the puree and added an amazing boldness to this dish. We used fresh herbs instead of dried which created even more rich flavor. The Parmesan cheese truly does add the perfect finish to this risotto. When I took this to my family Thanksgiving gathering last year it vanished. We are making a double batch to take to my husband's gathering in a few days and thanks to the Williams-Sonoma puree and the bold chicken and wine stock I know this is going to be a huge hit! We are also considering making this to accompany roast duck for Christmas.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WendyKHou
Upstate NY
August 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and simple!
August 31, 2011
This was my first time making risotto and it turned out so well!! I added a little more freshly grated Parmesan and it really enhanced the flavor nicely. I served it with a mustard and herb crusted pork tenderloin and asparagus, would highly recommend!!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, taste
Review 6 for Butternut Squash Risotto
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nynjgirl
Hoboken, NJ
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, but with a few tweaks...yum
January 7, 2011
This recipe overall is great! However, as usual with risotto,it takes time & patience to prepare to get creamy perfection. I can't use a recipe w/out changing something though and for this I had to eliminate the onions because they bother my stomach. Instead of the white wine, I used some dry sparkling wine I had open and I used a bit less squash puree. Overall, the rosemary & sage really made the dish flavors pop and with lots of stirring and care, it came out wonderfully.
Review 7 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LilAngell
El Paso, TX
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing dish!
December 8, 2010
I have made this every year for Thanksgiving. It's so good, makes a lot, and is a crowd pleaser. It's super yummy with the turkey leftovers! I LOVE IT!
Review 8 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ssinnyc
new york city
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent as an entree or side
November 25, 2010
I have made this recipe numerous times. Every time it turns out great. Save some of the stock for reheating leftovers. warm the leftovers and stir the stock into the risotto. It returns the risotto to its original creaminess.
Review 9 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
forumfriend
Houston, Texas
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving Staple
November 22, 2010
I made this dish several years ago for Thanksgiving . It was a hit! Now we can't have Thanksgiving without it. I think the dish is time consuming to prepare when trying to get everything else ready for a big feast but well worth it.
Review 10 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rugby
Bay Area
November 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Autumn in a bowl!
November 18, 2010
Made this risotto for dinner last night and it was excellent. The flavor is slightly sweet from the buttnut squash and caramelized onions, salty from the parmesean and nutty from the browned butter. I work long hours, so I made the components ahead of time: roasting squash on day one, caramelizing onions day two and making the risotto day three. But I also like that I could make it in a snap with some Squash puree and jarred caramelized onions from Williams-Sonoma (which I will be purchasing this week). Freezes wonderfully. Will definitely be making this again!
Review 11 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hgscull
Belmar, NJ
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious!
October 20, 2010
I made this last night and it was both easy and so delicious. I actually used canned pumpkin and dried spices (use a lot less of the spices if you aren't using fresh; 1 tsp dry - 1 tbsp fresh) and it turned out beautifully. Very seasonal!
Review 12 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CynKC
Kansas City
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous For a Cold Fall Night
May 14, 2010
If only it didn't take so long to make. Great recipe, not difficult, but you need plenty of time to cook it.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Burnie
Murrells Inlet, S.C.
Posted January 23, 2011
Pressure cooker risotto
Try the pressure cooker method with risotto. It is fast and precise. Makes the best risotto everytime.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Butternut Squash Risotto
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
7Cali2010
Los Angeles, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decadent, but can only eat in small portions
April 30, 2010
I discovered the lovely flavor of butternut squash a few years ago, and so I was looking for a recipe that would combine the squash and another one of my favorite ingredients, risotto. The recipe was relatively easy to make. I loved the flavor, though I don't think this recipe works as an entree. It is almost too rich and decadent, and slightly "one note." I think this would work well as a small appetizer before an entree with some more depth of flavor. Even my ravenous fiance could only eat a small portion of it.
Review 14 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WNYsue
Western NY
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved by those "non-butternut squash" fans!
April 30, 2010
This risotto is delicious! Relatives who don't eat squash loved it. I can't wait for Williams Sonoma to have the pureed butternut squash for sale which makes it so easy to prepare. Sure, I've made my own squash before, but can't beat the ease of the jar! Very simple recipe, but excellent! Risotto is much easier to make than many people think - just use the correct rice.
Review 15 for Butternut Squash Risotto
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Theodora
Brooklyn, NY
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Creamy goodness
April 30, 2010
I made this dish for my friends one evening. It was my first attempt at making risotto. While it did take me a while to make and a lot of stirring, everyone loved it's creamy goodness. Once they added the sage butter the flavor went to another level! I will definitely make this again.
Review 16 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KellyUNC83
Charlotte, NC
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Creamy Autumn Favorite
April 30, 2010
This recipe is a favorite in my house. For what you spend in time and effort, your delicious results will pay you back exponentially in delectable creamy goodness and rave reviews from dinner companions. I have split the recipe in half, which provides more than enough for two people and doubled the recipe for a larger gathering. Take your time with this, read the directions ahead of time and carefully. You don't want to miss any steps to making this dish as wonderful as it was intended to be. I really love the marriage of two versatile starches: arborio rice and winter squash. When butternut squash is not in season and difficult to find, sweet potato is a wonderful substitute. When doubling the recipe for large gatherings, make sure your pot or other cook wear is very large, else the bottom will burn and the top of the risotto will be undercooked. Working with two differing pots would also work.
Review 17 for Butternut Squash Risotto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marilom
Marlboro, NJ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd Pleaser
April 30, 2010
This has become a Thanksgiving tradition at our home. I serve this as a 1st course. It is warm and creamy with a tender bite from the risotto. The richness of the butternut squash brings out the full flavor in this recipe. Definitely a favorite as an appetizer, side dish or even a main meal.