Buttermilk-Brined Turkey

Soaking the turkey in a saltwater brine produces tender, juicy meat. In this recipe our brine mixture also includes buttermilk, which adds flavor to the turkey and helps keep the meat moist.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
Review 1 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
logicalhenry
,Tamarac
,FL
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and moist!
November 30, 2013
This was by far the best turkey we have ever had! Every bite was moist and delicious, even the white meat left overs! Brined a 20lb turkey for 48 hours and it was perfect. I will use this method every year and will try it with chickens very soon! Thank you!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again, incredibly delicious
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Charlie14760
NY
Posted October 29, 2014
Brinning Question
The recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups turkey brine. Do you know if this is the dry brine or is it a cup and a half of the brinning solution already made?Thanks for your help!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RyanT
,Highland
,UT
November 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brine available?
November 25, 2013
I'm a bit confused at the first ingredient "Turkey Brine." Brine is technically the complete liquid solution, is it not?
Is the recipe referring to the Williams-Sonoma Brining Blend product in the link below? If so, it's not available anymore. Anyone have a substitute?
http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/williams-sonoma-turkey-brine/
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Charlie14760
NY
Posted November 26, 2013
Same Question
With such great reviews we are going to use this recipe, but also wonder about the first ingredient...Is "turkey brine" the complete liquid solution?
0points
Customer avatar
Charlie14760
Posted November 26, 2013
I think I maybe wondering the same thing, is the Turkey Brine supposed to be prepared or still the salt mixture?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gardnerh
,Beavercreek
,OR
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievably Moist and Tasty
October 26, 2013
We used this recipe on a 43 pound tom turkey last year and it was wonderful. We raised the turkey ourselves so it had not been injected with any kinds of chemicals to moisten it. We thought it was going to be dry and tough, but the buttermilk saved Thanksgiving. Thank you so much for the idea. We'll use it again this year on our 19 and 15 pound hens.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, really worked
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SarahBB
,Elizabeth City
,NC
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best!!
November 23, 2012
So my mother and I were in the store buying our usual stuffing mix when the saleswoman gave her sales pitch about brining a turkey. Another customer piped in and raved about it also and said she would never do another Turkey without brining first. So I bought the stuff and I can honestly say this Turkey turned out the best EVER!!! So juicy and flavorful!!! The hardest part was talking my mother into doing it (b/c she is set in her ways and dosn't like change). She even thought is was the best ever and will be doing it again EVERY year!!!
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 5 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeacherAnn
,Manitowoc
,WI
November 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Most Moist Turkey Ever
November 22, 2012
There really is some magic with the buttermilk in this recipe. This is the 3rd year I have made it and I will never make a turkey another way. The star anise that is in the Williams Sonoma brine mix really imparts a nice taste and scent to the bird as well. Like another reviewer, I did have to baste with chicken stock for the first two hours. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, taste
Review 6 for Buttermilk-Brined Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StaceyH
,Mount Pleasant
,WI
November 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Turkey Ever
November 18, 2012
I hosted Thanksgiving for the first time ever last year. I used a fresh turkey and the Buttermilk Brine recipe. It was the best tasting turkey ever. I am making it again this year. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Thank you!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again