Butter-Pecan Ice Cream

Coarsely chopped pecans are allowed to steep in the custard, infusing it with their nutty flavor. Then they are strained out to ensure the ice cream has a smooth consistency. At the end of the freezing stage, pecans glazed with brown sugar are swirled into the ice cream, adding a crunchy texture and sweet taste.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Butter-Pecan Ice Cream
Review 1 for Butter-Pecan Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sas05
July 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great butter pecan recipe
July 5, 2014
Family loves it. House smells awesome! I love butter pecan ice cream and now the family does , too! I'll be making again this summer!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Butter-Pecan Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ReneH
,Jackson
,Mi
June 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
June 2, 2014
This was THE BEST ice cream! I'm used to making fussy desserts so the instructions were quite easy and very similar to making French custard. My family just went on and on about how great this ice cream was... and the toasted, caramelized pecans just brought it over the top! I can't wait to make some other Williams-Sonoma ice cream flavors! I'm doing the Coconut next (using toasted coconut in the ice cream it self, as suggested! Also going to add some salted, dark chocolate shaving as well.) Excited!
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again, delicious and creamy
Review 3 for Butter-Pecan Ice Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
msmarguet
,Louisville
,KY
June 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Big Pecan Flavor in this Custard Ice Cream
June 1, 2014
This recipe makes the best butter-pecan ice cream I have ever made. The toasted pecans cooked into the custard before straining makes a rich, thick custard base . . . thick enough to hold the chopped pecans coated with brown sugar, and creamy enough to freeze well and serve with an ice cream scoop.
This is also my husbands favorite ice cream, so I will be making it all summer!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, the right yield for cuisinart elec.ice cream mach.
Review 4 for Butter-Pecan Ice Cream
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shar1
,here
,tx
February 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-9points
0of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
complicated
February 7, 2014
far too complicated...making ice cream should be easy. As a foodie (and all foodies know this) I enjoy cooking fresh and wonderful meals/dishes. However, when you talk about forming rings out of a towel - really??? Far too many steps. W&S over-complicated what should be a simple and easy dish - butter pecan ice cream. I do like the idea of toasting the pecans first in the butter and brown sugar - will likely 'steal' that bit... but the rest of the recipe...well, let's just say it'll not be done.
Pros: complicated, too many steps
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy