Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme

Braising is a technique that involves browning food in oil or butter, then slowly simmering the ingredients in a moderate amount of liquid. Although typically used for meats, this cooking method is ideal for certain vegetables, such as brussels sprouts. Here, the vegetables are simmered in chicken or turkey stock so they emerge tender and tasty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
Review 1 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
January 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick and Easy side dish
January 20, 2013
My husband loves Brussels sprouts and I'm always looking for different ways to cook them.
This recipe was very easy to make and flavor was great.
I cut the recipe in half as I had only a pound of Brussels sprouts.
I used half of yellow onion instead of shallots. I didn't add any salt and it was still good taste.
I will make this again!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LanaLou516
,South Westbury
,NY
December 1, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy to make
December 1, 2012
I am the first to admit that I am not "culinary inclined." This recipe made me look good to my family and taught me additional cooking skills. This is a huge hit and looks pretty on the table!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nhfin
November 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Thanksgiving side!!
November 12, 2011
I served this last year for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit!!
Review 4 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tetedeveau
yonkers, new york
February 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Special sprouts
February 1, 2011
made for only 2 people...1 cup of sprouts. More or less 1/4ed the recipe. Delicious!
Review 5 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EpicuriousOne
Seattle, WA
January 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oooooohhhh lala brussel sprouts!
January 19, 2011
This recipe is DIVINE! If you have anyone in your life that hates brussel sprouts, this dish will make them change their mind!
Review 6 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HersheyRealtor
Hershey, PA
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very tasty veggie dish
December 26, 2010
I served this dish at our family Christmas dinner, and everyone loved it...even those who thought they didn't like brussel sprouts! I just used 1 t salt, and it was plenty. It was a nice colorful dish for the table too!
Review 7 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrPaul
Long Island
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply awesome
November 25, 2010
This is one of the best dishes to have on the side for Thanksgiving
Review 8 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoriR
CA Bay Area
October 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious!
October 28, 2010
I've made this every year for the past 3 years for Thanksgiving, and will make them again this year.
Extremely tender and flavorful.
Review 9 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mdouglass
St. Louis, MO
September 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious but salty
September 16, 2010
This recipe is wonderful and I have made it twice. Once with all recommended ingredients, the second time without the bacon. Both times the dish came out remarkably salty. 3 tsp is a lot of salt, beware!
Review 10 for Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Thyme
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PC123
Washington DC Metropolitan Area
August 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Side Dish
August 7, 2010
If you like brussel sprouts and bacon this recipe is the best -- incredibly delicious!