Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots

We've put a sophisticated new spin on a traditional Thanksgiving vegetable, transforming brussels sprouts into a creamy gratin. This dish offers an enticing contrast of flavors and textures: Caramelized shallots offset the slight bitterness of the brussels sprouts, while cream and two kinds of cheese add richness. A bread crumb topping lends irresistible buttery crunch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
Review 1 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoanieMcC
,Chapin
,SC
September 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Carmelized Shallots
September 3, 2013
I make this dish every Thanksgiving & Christmas - it's fabulous. Don't know what I'll do this year as W-S is no longer carrying the jar of carmelized shallots! This is a somewhat labor intensive recipe so really don't want to have to make my own - please bring them back!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Cons: shallots no longer available!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JBAO
Ladera Ranch, CA
Posted November 22, 2013
Make Your Own Carmelized Shallots...
I made this dish a few Thanksgivings ago and it was fabulous. At the time WS ran out of the caramelized shallots, so I just made my own. Buy about 12 oz of shallots at the store. Wash, trim, and slice thinly. Add about a tablespoon of butter to a fry pan with about a half cup of sugar. Add the shallots and simmer uncovered on low until the shallots are golden brown (about 30 minutes). Viola!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeflonRon
,Rolling Hills
,CA
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Relatively Simple
December 28, 2012
Everyone enjoyed this dish, which was simple to prepare and made for a great presentation in the pan. I reduced the amount of bread crumbs by about one half. The silky sauce is sure to convert even the most ardent sprout skeptics at your table.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JustT
San Diego, CA
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful recipe!!
December 25, 2011
I absolutely love this dish, and so has everyone that I served it to. It is to die for! I particularly love the lemon zest in the filling and in the topping. I use Panko bread crumbs, and I caramelize the shallots myself (rather than using store bought). I agree that it seems like a lot of crumbs, but not really if you use a shallow and wide dish to bake them in. i will make this recipe again for sure!!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leslie60
Rockledge, Florida
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brussels Sprouts for the Non-Veggie Eater
January 7, 2011
If you have family members who shy away from veggies, this is the recipe for you. The combination of flavors has even the most reluctant veggie eater reaching for seconds! Imagine brussels sprouts in a cheesy-crunchy casserole that is not too hard to make. A real winner..
Review 5 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
livermoremom
Livermore, CA
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tremendous!
December 19, 2010
This recipe is soooo delicious! Even the kids ate it! The only thing I changed was to cook it in a casserole rather than in a skillet.
Review 6 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paks2much
Chapel Hill, NC
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent company side dish!
December 7, 2010
For two years now, we have had this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner. This year it got "best dish of the meal" raves. The lemon zest adds such a bright flavor, offsetting the richness of the cheese and cream, as well as, punching up the crumb topping. It was also a great addition to dinner for the vegetarians dining with us. It is excellent.
Review 7 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PaulaJ
Rochester, Michigan
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Recipe
November 29, 2010
This was a great recipe, but there is something wrong with the quantity of bread crumbs listed for the topping. I think it's supposed to be 1/3 cup or 1-1/3 cups? 3 cups is definately wrong.
Review 8 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BY7491
Connecticut
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My KIDS request that I make this recipie!
November 24, 2010
I've made this several times and my KIDS, can you belive that ,KIDS request that I make Brussell Sprouts!
Review 9 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickanew
Wilmington, NC
November 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite side dish!
November 19, 2010
We made this last year at Thanksgiving and it was our favorite dish. I am looking forward to making it again this year.
Review 10 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4wynnes
Cleveland Hts., OH
November 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Sprouts!
November 16, 2010
I don't even like brussels sprouts. I made this recipe for my family. They loved it so much I decided to try it. It's delicious! I halved the recipe, but this time I'll make a full batch.
Review 11 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobbie257
Villanova, PA
November 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this recipe!
November 12, 2010
Although I love brussel sprouts in any possible way, even the most stubborn brussel sprout nay-sayer will enjoy this dish. While it does involve a fair amount of prep, it is well worth the effort. Everyone raved about the taste! So good.
Review 12 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arnove
Alpine Breckenridge, Co
October 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent side dish
October 29, 2010
I made the Brussel sprout dish and it was wonderful and EVERYONE loved them.
I also made the green bean dish - also excellent. I improvised a brisket recipe-by adding them - wonderful.
The only problem, is finding them! No stores near me, so have to search for on that has them and have them mailed.
Review 13 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cullymb1113
Seattle, WA
October 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best brussel sprouts ever!
October 22, 2010
I made this last Thanksgiving and it was such a hit that I am now tagged with making it every year! I am looking forward to it.....a GREAT recipe and reheats nicely the next day!
Review 14 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maryann12
Dublin, CA
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved this recipe!
June 21, 2010
I made this dish a few months back and my family loved it! It was easy to make and the kids came back for seconds. I will be making this again for sure.
Review 15 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
caronc
Fort Worth, TX
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
May 14, 2010
This is the best brussel sprout recipe I've ever made. The carmelized onions make it. I wouldn't be without them on my pantry shelf after using them in this recipe. I doubled the recipe for Thanksgiving and even brussel sprout haters loved it!
Review 16 for Brussels Sprouts Gratin with Caramelized Shallots
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pam1
San Diego, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brussels Sprouts for Everyone!
May 14, 2010
I've now prepared this recipe twice and will do it again for any pot luck that I ever have to go to!
The trick is not to tell people what's in it! I had folks that said they didn't like Brussels Sprouts go back for seconds!
I absolutely love this! I even bought the Rufoni Gratin Pan to serve it. It is beautiful and delicious!