Braised Short Ribs

Rectangular pieces of beef that are usually taken from the chuck section, short ribs are tough cuts of meat that become fork-tender with braising. Here, we prepare the ribs in a slow cooker, where they braise for hours in red wine and beef stock seasoned with aromatic herbs. Serve with Herbed Spaetzle, which soak up the flavorful sauce (see related recipe at right).
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Braised Short Ribs
Review 1 for Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jshayneo
,Ft Worth
,TX
July 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible!
July 4, 2012
This is likely my favorite recipe. It was a huge hit! These ribs are luscious and velvety. Truly amazing food! I served them over sour cream and cheese mashed potatoes. Fantasic!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Braised Short Ribs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sophi
San Bruno, CA
June 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First time making this, success!
June 15, 2011
I got a slow cooker as a wedding gift and wanted to try a new recipe, double new whammy!!Short ribs were on sale at a local grocery store, so I thought I'd research a short ribs recipe and one of the earliest search results was the WS braised short ribs.I followed the recipe completely noted on the WS website...and it turned out AMAZING!!!! The ribs were tender (ok, they didn't fall off the bone tender, but close enough) and I let the slow cooker do all the magic after I did the initial prep work and stepped out for the day. Our entire house smelled delicious and that was before I even opened the lid on the slow cooker!!
Will definitely make again :)
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bitsyjhawk
santa fe
May 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
make ahead
May 5, 2011
great deep beefy flavor from the short ribs beefs up a standard beef stew or boeuf bourginon. i make this a day in advance, skim off the fat, press the veggies into the broth. day of serving, i have the broth and meat heated up, add roasted carrots (with a small green still attached), tiny yukon gold double bakes potatoes, and tiny braised onions...everything but the carrots made the day in advance
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katwag
Boston
February 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
European Pleasure
February 17, 2011
I just put all the ingredients together and have been simmering it for a short period. It already taste wonderful and the house smells absolutely fabulous. No question that this is going to be superb.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
canuckgolfer
Ontario, Canada
February 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Slow Cooker Recipe!
February 2, 2011
I was looking for a recipe for my slow cooker, I had never cooked with short ribs before, saw this recipe and the great reviews so I decided to use a family party as a great time to experiment!! Everyone loved it, so much so I didn't end up with any leftovers! The house smelled wonderful!
Review 6 for Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tocsog
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Anytime Meal
May 14, 2010
This recipe I have used many times, and is the best! My All Clad slow cooker has never produced anything better. Serve it with any starch, and you will be a hero!
Review 7 for Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YvonneC
San Jose
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family favorite
May 2, 2010
This is my signature dish I make for my family and friends. I make it in the crock pot and it comes out wonderful every time.
Review 8 for Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zekiesmom
media, pa
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and delicious
April 30, 2010
I love short ribs and it was one of the reasons to buy the incredible slow cooker with the browning insert. People RAVED about the flavor. The meat was so tender it fell off the bones. I have had requests to make it again.....and a non believing friend became a believer in slow cooking.
Review 9 for Braised Short Ribs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Denice
Coraopolis, PA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious one pot dinner
April 30, 2010
If you like one pot dinners and melt in your mouth ribs try this recipe! Easy to prepare and so delicious. You don't have to be a gourmet cook to make this one and your family will think they are eatting at a Tuscan restaurant! Definitely a keeper.