Blueberry Pie

When a recipe calls for citrus zest and juice, always begin by zesting the rind. First, scrub the fruit well to remove any wax or chemicals. If possible, buy organic fruit to use for zesting. Use a zester, vegetable peeler or fine Microplane grater to remove just the thin, colored portion of the rind, being careful not to include the bitter white pith underneath. To juice, slice the fruit in half crosswise. Working over a bowl, use a reamer to extract the juice or use a citrus juicer. Strain the juice before using to remove any seeds and pulp.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Blueberry Pie
Review 1 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GraceAnn
,Sweden
September 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Blueberry PIe Recipe Ever!
September 16, 2012
This recipe is fail safe and wonderful and I always get numerous compliments on it every time I make it. I usually make it without the cinnamon just because I don't want anything to distract from the wonderful blueberry flavor with a hint of lemon. It is great every time I make it! I even use this recipe with blackberries and we even used this recipe to make mini pies for the groom's "cake" at our wedding. They were eaten up so quickly we never even got one!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shanzi
,Atlanta
,GA
July 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best pie yet
July 23, 2012
I've been on a bit of a pie making craze for the past few months and this is my most favorite recipe yet. But don't take my word for it, my brother-in-law and boyfriend also enjoyed it. I will make this one again and again!
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatefromScratch
,NJ
July 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic and Easy
July 18, 2012
Everyone ranted and raved endlessly about how delicious and perfect it was. It didn't involve much effort or cost (an added perk to any recipe). The only thing I'd have to add to this, is that you should add the sugar slowly if you're making it during peak blueberry season, which I did. I had deliciously ripe berries. I'm not a fan of overly sweet and therefore, had to add a bit more lemon to accommodate the sweetness. If I had added the sugar a little at a time, I could have avoided needing additional lemon.
That being said...it's still one of the best pies I've ever made and will be the only recipe I use from this point on due to its simplicity and humble means of presenting perfectly ripe berries. I blogged it too. A definite keeper in the recipe box. The crust to filling ratio is spot on.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Texture, Ingredients
Review 4 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vhmp
,Wellington
,Fl
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing and super easy recipe!
June 23, 2012
I made this pie last week and it was incredibly easy to make (I have never made pie in my life) and it tasted sooooooooooooooooooooo good. I'm not big on sweets and this was the perfect amount of sweetness and tartness. I ate at least 3 slices it was so yummy and I'm getting ready to make another one tonight.
Oh and I did a lattice top, so pretty!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doublethegarlic
Winston-Salem, NC
July 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Picnic Treat
July 2, 2011
I wanted to make a blueberry pie for a picnic and this was perfect! The lemon tartness made the blueberry flavor really pop. One friend said it was just like his grandma used to make and the only thing to make it better was some good vanilla ice cream. This is a sure please for blueberry lovers!
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scubadiver
Redondo Beach, CA
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy and easy to do!
January 6, 2011
Made this pie for the first time yesterday with frozen wild blueberries. It was delicious and not too sweet! I increased the lemon zest up to 1 teaspoon and substituted 2.5 tablespoons of flour for the cornstarch. I made it with the pie cutters and used the ceramic pie dish from Wiliams Sonoma, it got a lot of compliments! We will definately make this again, and super easy recipe!
Review 7 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauralH
Williamstown, MA
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Blueberry Pie Recipe
August 18, 2010
This pie recipe is the best in my opinion. I have tried many and the beauty is in the simplicity. It is easy to make, the crust gets compliments from my guests all the time and the taste is just right. Light and delicious. I even tried some minor variations and that altered the whole experience. Don't mess with perfection. Blueberries that are firm, right off the bush and used right away ensure the best outcome.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LauralH
Williamstown, MA
Posted August 14, 2012
Addition
I have made this pie several more times and I find that using a 1/2 tsp. of vanilla when coating the berries really adds a nice flavor. Other than that the recipe is perfect.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cvrc1226
Naples, FL
August 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make pie
August 16, 2010
First time making pie and it came out amazing! It was a very easy recipe to follow as well!
Review 9 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommy2three
Toledo, OH
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good any time of year!
July 19, 2010
This is an excellent recipe for blueberry pie! I've made it in the summer with fresh blueberries and in the winter with frozen...either way it tastes great! Soooo glad to have found this one, it's has a perminent place in my recipe box :) Made several times with no changes & everyone loves it!!!
Review 10 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rouge
North Carolina
July 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Quick
July 7, 2010
This pie was delicious and so easy. I made it from fresh picked blueberries and it turned out great! I put a sugar glaze on top of the crust after it was finished baking.
Review 11 for Blueberry Pie
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AlmostMartha
Arvada, CO
May 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Luscious Blues
May 5, 2010
I love this blueberry pie recipe. It was easy to make and I would make it again when the blueberries are in season. Add some real vanilla ice cream to a warm slice of pie and it is literally a slice of heaven.
Review 12 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janet1
Burr Ridge, IL
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blueberry Heaven
May 1, 2010
The perfect blueberry pie. I have never had one so good. It is mouth watering. Perfectly sweet, easy to make. Solidifies quickly and the blueberries are not mushy. Perfect for anytime .confident for a luncheon or special event.
Review 13 for Blueberry Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
p3jflynn
Raleigh, NC
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh tasting, not goopy
April 30, 2010
This is the only blueberry pie recipe I use. The taste is terrific, and the best part is that it's not goopy and syrupy like so many. This is a pie bursting with fresh berries and pure summer.