Black Bottom Cupcakes

Why is there vinegar in the cupcake batter? Baking soda, the ingredient that makes these cupcakes rise, starts to work only when it comes in contact with an acidic ingredient. Some common types used in baking are lemon juice, buttermilk and vinegar. Sweet balsamic vinegar, which has a flavor that goes well with the rich flavor of cocoa, is added to the batter here. It gives these cupcakes a deep, full flavor. Surprisingly, they wont taste anything like vinegar after the batter is baked.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Black Bottom Cupcakes
Review 1 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mxm242
January 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect cupcakes for chocolate lovers
January 19, 2014
I love baking these cupcakes, they are really easy to make and are really good so I try to only make them when I'm taking them somewhere otherwise I would eat them all. They taste great without frosting but I sometimes put chocolate frosting on them too. They are also good for Halloween, I used orange white chocolate chips and used food coloring to make the cream cheese filling orange.
Review 2 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marnster
,Fergus
,ON
April 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A+++Yummie!
April 1, 2013
I am not a baker, I love to cook. However this was an easy to follow recipe. 3 levels of taste. Everyone loved them. Will make again absolutely! I didn't have a pastry bag but will try the other persons suggestion of spooning the filling. Great recipe.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Radski5
,West Allis
,WI
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best version of this cupcake recipe I've tried
February 17, 2012
Don't let the list of ingredients or the steps keep you from trying this recipe. It's a winner. They sell out at each bake sale I make them for and are a family favorite. I've tried other recipe variations of this cupcake and they aren't as full of chocolate flavor as this one. The balsamic vinegar makes a difference in the end result. They also turn out just fine if you put in a small scoop of the chocolate batter, then a small scoop of cream cheese batter followed by another small scoop of chocolate batter instead of using a pastry bag or zipper type bag for the filling. It's a wonderful and popular cupcake!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefRoxi
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy (but not so healthy)
January 29, 2012
Very delicious - satisfied the chocolate craving. Received rave reviews from others. Makes a lot (24). Recipe has them cool for a long time (which is not practical if you need to reuse the pan), I only left them in the pan for 5-10 minutes before pulling them out and they turned out fine. Yum!
Pros: fun
Review 5 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EdaAdore
,Mexico City
October 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and Easy
October 19, 2011
Delicious, everyone liked it. I used mascarpone cheese instead of cream cheese and worked amazingly !!!!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mumof6
Frederick, OK
May 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even you can bake them!!!!
May 26, 2011
They are easy to make. Delicious, nobody ever passed one up and they always ask for more. It has a rich moist chocolate tase and the cream cheese filling adds a special touch. I could remmoned these for any occasion from childrens BParty to a dessert course for a formal dinner. Prior to making them I always lay out all of my ingredients. I have also noticed the longer you beat the batter at the end with a wodden spoon, the fluffier are the cupcakes.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 7 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mangopapaya
May 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
May 17, 2011
I have made these several times and they never disappoint. They taste amazing and everyone always asks for the recipe.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LANNIC
April 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy, quick recipe - terrific results
April 19, 2011
These remind me of the cupcakes Starbuck used to sell. Every time I make them someone comments on how good they are and asks for the recipie.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again, simple ingredients
Review 9 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ADRITHOMMATH
Midwest
April 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Different
April 17, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. It was a different type of cupcake that I ever made before (something in the middle). Relatively easy and tasted wonderful.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dessertmaker
Sacramento, CA
March 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
worth the little extra trouble
March 13, 2011
food chemistry....I'm a believer. You might say, "why do I really need to put in balsalmic vinegar and do these extra steps?" Trust me, you will want to do this. Yum!
Review 11 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ymwelcom
Marietta, GA
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift!
November 22, 2010
I made this cupcakes for one of my coworkers. My oven acted up a little and baked at 400F instead of 350F so they turned out a little dry but the flavor was great! I'll definitely try again.
Review 12 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leahb
Hampstead, NC
May 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
May 25, 2010
This cupcake is hands down the best cupcake that I've ever had! It wasn't too sweet, but just sweet enough, and no need for frosting. Awesome!!
Review 13 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CRHale
Silver Spring, Maryland
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicous treat for chocolate lovers
May 14, 2010
These cupcakes are very good - moist, delicious and enough going on to make them interesting, with an impressive presentation.
They are easier and faster to prepare than the recipe would suggest - and in a pinch the cream cheese filling could be added with a small spoon in lieu of the pastry bag.
My chocoholic husband thought buttercream frosting would have been a nice final touch.
Review 14 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ttoronto
Toronto
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Cupcakes to Travel With
May 14, 2010
No need to worry about wrecking the icing. And they taste very good.