Black Bottom Cupcakes

Why is there vinegar in the cupcake batter? Baking soda, the ingredient that makes these cupcakes rise, starts to work only when it comes in contact with an acidic ingredient. Some common types used in baking are lemon juice, buttermilk and vinegar. Sweet balsamic vinegar, which has a flavor that goes well with the rich flavor of cocoa, is added to the batter here. It gives these cupcakes a deep, full flavor. Surprisingly, they wont taste anything like vinegar after the batter is baked.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Black Bottom Cupcakes
Review 1 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
December 14, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Black Bottom Cupcakes With A Twist!
December 14, 2014
I Made A Bundt Cake Instead Of Cup Cakes And Added 2 Cups Of Sweetened Flaked Coconut,Two Teaspoons Of Almond Extract And 1 Teaspoon Of Vanilla To The Cream Cheese Filling!
Pour 1/2 Cake Mixture Into Bundt Pan, Spoon The Cream Cheese Coconut Mixture Into The Pan (No Need For Piping) And Then Top With Remaining Cake Mixture.
Instead Of Adding Chocolate Bits, I Made Chocolate Ganache To Drizzle Over Cake.
Chocolate Ganache Recipe:
1 Cup Of Heavy Cream
2 Tablespoons Of Unsalted Butter - Cubed Into Small Squares.
10 Ounces Of Good Quality Bittersweet Chocolate - Cut Into Small Pieces
! Teaspoon Of Vanilla.
Place The Butter And Chocolate Pieces Into A Mixing Bowl.
Heat Heavy Cream In Sauce Pan Until It Comes To A Boil.
Pour Heated Heavy Cream Over Butter And Chocolate Pieces And Let Stand For 2 Minutes To Melt Butter And Chocolate.
After 2 Minutes Whisk Until Smooth Then Add 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extra And Whisk Again. Let Cool And Then Drizzle.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, moist, d, delicious
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plguss
,Rancho Palos Verdes
,CA
December 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mini Cupcakes
December 1, 2014
I just made these as mini cupcakes. One recipe of batter made 96 (8- 12 cupcake pans). I had to make 2 recipes of the cream cheese filling - probably put too much in each, but they rose nicely and didn't spill out of the papers. I put mini chocolate chips on top and will top with chocolate buttercream just to make them fancier for Holiday parties. I just tasted one and it was really good - moist and the filling was perfect.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mxm242
January 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect cupcakes for chocolate lovers
January 19, 2014
I love baking these cupcakes, they are really easy to make and are really good so I try to only make them when I'm taking them somewhere otherwise I would eat them all. They taste great without frosting but I sometimes put chocolate frosting on them too. They are also good for Halloween, I used orange white chocolate chips and used food coloring to make the cream cheese filling orange.
Review 4 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marnster
,Fergus
,ON
April 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A+++Yummie!
April 1, 2013
I am not a baker, I love to cook. However this was an easy to follow recipe. 3 levels of taste. Everyone loved them. Will make again absolutely! I didn't have a pastry bag but will try the other persons suggestion of spooning the filling. Great recipe.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Radski5
,West Allis
,WI
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best version of this cupcake recipe I've tried
February 17, 2012
Don't let the list of ingredients or the steps keep you from trying this recipe. It's a winner. They sell out at each bake sale I make them for and are a family favorite. I've tried other recipe variations of this cupcake and they aren't as full of chocolate flavor as this one. The balsamic vinegar makes a difference in the end result. They also turn out just fine if you put in a small scoop of the chocolate batter, then a small scoop of cream cheese batter followed by another small scoop of chocolate batter instead of using a pastry bag or zipper type bag for the filling. It's a wonderful and popular cupcake!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Black Bottom Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefRoxi
,Las Vegas
,NV
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy (but not so healthy)
January 29, 2012
Very delicious - satisfied the chocolate craving. Received rave reviews from others. Makes a lot (24). Recipe has them cool for a long time (which is not practical if you need to reuse the pan), I only left them in the pan for 5-10 minutes before pulling them out and they turned out fine. Yum!
Pros: fun